Home arrow Browse Shop

Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.

New Releases

Peanuts Every Sunday: 1956-1960 (Vol. 2)
Peanuts Every Sunday: 1956-1960 (Vol. 2)
$49.99
Add to Cart

The Complete Peanuts 1953-1954 (Vol. 2) [Softcover Ed.]
The Complete Peanuts 1953-1954 (Vol. 2) [Softcover Ed.]
$22.99
Add to Cart

The Complete Peanuts 1950-1954 (Vols. 1 - 2) Gift Box Set Softcover Ed.]
The Complete Peanuts 1950-1954 (Vols. 1 - 2) Gift Box Set Softcover Ed.]
$39.99
Add to Cart

Bumf Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser
Bumf Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser
$14.99
Add to Cart

all new releases


CMYK
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under miscellany 25 Jul 2008 10:24 PM

  

Your feng shui book idea of the day: color organizing. Found on chotda's photostream at flickr. Extra credit: Spot the Daniel Clowes books. 

Sketchbook #66
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Steven Weissmanart 25 Jul 2008 11:47 AM

Courtesy Steven "Ribs" Weissman:

Hidden Gems Sale spotlight: Carol Swain
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under sales specialsCarol Swain 24 Jul 2008 11:00 PM

Every day in July we're spotlighting books from our month-long Hidden Gems Sale, wherein we're featuring some of our under-the-radar backlist titles and encouraging you to try them by offering them at a nice discount of 25% off!

The subject of today's spotlight, British cartoonist Carol Swain, has been acclaimed by Alan Moore and called "the Raymond Carver of British comics" by Time Out, yet somehow still remains something of a secret.

Foodboy by Carol Swain

Foodboy

Foodboy is about loss and hope, friendship, faith, and bonds that are tested when the paths of two boyhood friends diverge. Gareth and Ross live in a small Welsh village; when Ross ends up alienated from society and living in a near-feral state after an encounter with a visiting troupe of Evangelists, it falls to Gareth to try to help him. Foodboy is drawn in Swain's trademark style of exquisite panel compositions.

80-page black & white 7" x 10" softcover
regularly $9.95 • ON SALE $7.46
Order Now

Invasion of the Mind Sappers by Carol Swain

Invasion of the Mind Sappers

A disquieting meditation on teenage fantasies in the tradition of Heavenly Creatures and The Miracle, Swain's first full-length graphic novel tells the story of Dai, Helen, and Ivan, three friends who believe that the earthquake that rocked their hometown was caused by — yes — a crashlanding UFO, survived only by their temporary headmaster. Are they right, or is the truth even stranger? Swain's brutally honest depiction of small-town life and her powerfully forthright graphic style create a bruising, harrowing masterwork.

80-page black & white 7" x 10" softcover
regularly $8.95 • ON SALE $6.71
Order Now





Ditko Radio UK
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Steve DitkoBlake Bell 24 Jul 2008 9:34 PM

 

Our pal James DC hosts a 1 hour special round-table discussion about Strange and Stranger: The World of Steve Ditko. James talks with comic book artists Brendan McCarthy and Steve Marchant and the author of the book, Blake Bell.

The show premieres 5pm - 6pm GMT, Thursday 31st July on Resonance 104.4 FM (London) / Globally streamed at www.resonancefm.com

The show will also be available for podcast/download a few weeks after airing. Check www.resonancefm.com for more info. We'll do our best to remind you when it happens.

Debuting at Comic-Con: SUBLIFE
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under John Pham 24 Jul 2008 9:27 PM

Published by Fantagraphics and making its world premiere at Comic-Con this weekend, SUBLIFE is a one person anthology series by John Pham featuring one single, serialized story (221 Sycamore St.) backed up by smaller, hopefully more self-contained strips. It should hit bookstores some time in the Fall, and the first issue will be squarebound, 64 pages, two-color. It'll feature the first part of the Sycamore St serial, as well as a nice two page genre strip called "Deep Space."Here are a few preview jpegs of the strips for your perusal.

John Pham will be signing the only available copies of SUBLIFE for the next couple of months this Friday & Saturday at Comicon at the Fantagraphics Books Booth (1716) at these times:

Friday: 2PM to 3PM
Saturday: 3PM to 5PM

  

 

Sketchbook #65
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Bob Fingermanart 24 Jul 2008 11:00 AM

Courtesy Bob Fingerman

Band of Brothers
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Kim DeitchJaime HernandezGilbert HernandezGene Deitch 24 Jul 2008 10:58 AM

Ah, it's a beautiful day in Seattle and currently the entire top floor of our building is occupied solely by myself and Adam Grano while everyone else gets their nerd on in San Diego. I could get used to not going to Comic-Con. (Note to Adam: can we get a ping pong table in here, toot-sweet?

Anyway, we just received advance copies of two new books (these are also debuting at the con) that will hit stores in early September: LOVE & ROCKETS: NEW STORIES #1 and DEITCH'S PICTORAMA. It occured to me that this means we will be releasing two books, on the same day, by two different sets of cartooning/sibling legends. Kind of cool. 

Hidden Gems Sale spotlight: Wilfred Santiago
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Wilfred Santiagosales specials 23 Jul 2008 11:00 PM

Every day in July we're spotlighting books from our month-long Hidden Gems Sale, wherein we're featuring some of our under-the-radar backlist titles and encouraging you to try them by offering them at a nice discount of 25% off!

The subject of today's spotlight, Wilfred Santiago, is poised to make a major splash in 2009 with 21, his comics biography of baseball legend Roberto Clemente.

In My Darkest Hour by Wilfred Santiago

In My Darkest Hour

The Age of Anxiety has never been better depicted in comics form than in In My Darkest Hour, a modernist, mainstream graphic novel that explores the inner life of its protagonist, Omar Guerrero, a 28 year-old Latin American transient, who confronts his pervasive feelings of inadequacy, anger, guilt, and escalating alienation. The first full-length graphic novel from Pop Life collaborator Wilfred Santiago, in a lovely two-color format.

128-page two-color  7" x 9" softcover
regularly $14.95 • ON SALE $11.21
Order Now


Maybe they can crash in the CBLDF office.
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Robert Crumb 23 Jul 2008 1:12 PM
A Holocaust denier in the UK tries to incite race hate online by using an infamous Crumb strip from Weirdo, "When the Goddamn Jews Take Over America," and then flees to America for asylum.
Sketchbook #64
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Joe Saccoart 23 Jul 2008 9:21 AM

Courtesy Joe Sacco: