Home arrow Browse Shop

Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.

New Releases

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge and Donald Duck: Return to Plain Awful (The Don Rosa Library Vol. 2) [U.S./CANADA ONLY]
Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge and Donald Duck: Return to Plain Awful (The Don Rosa Library Vol. 2) [U.S./CANADA ONLY]
$29.99
Add to Cart

Pogo - The Complete Syndicated Comic Strips Vol. 3: "Evidence to the Contrary"
Pogo - The Complete Syndicated Comic Strips Vol. 3:
$45.00
Add to Cart

The Complete Peanuts 1991-1994 Gift Box Set (Vols. 21-22)
The Complete Peanuts 1991-1994 Gift Box Set (Vols. 21-22)
$59.99
Add to Cart

Sock Monkey: Into the Deep Woods
Sock Monkey: Into the Deep Woods
$16.99
Add to Cart

all new releases


Sketchbook #67
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under art 26 Jul 2008 10:59 PM

Courtesy James Sturm:

The Complete Fletcher Hanks
Written by Jacob Covey | Filed under Paul KarasikFletcher Hanks 26 Jul 2008 9:58 AM

Hanks2_MOCKCoverthumb.jpg

Tom Spurgeon at Comics Reporter has the scoop on our forth-coming collection which will, according to expert/editor Paul Karasik, compile the last of all the stories Fletcher Hanks ever did. Check the CR site on Monday for all the details. 

Meanwhile, congratulations Paul Karasik for the Eisner win for Best Archival Collection with the first book of Hanks' work

Hidden Gems Sale spotlight: Rich Tommaso
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under sales specials 25 Jul 2008 11:00 PM

Every day in July we're spotlighting books from our month-long Hidden Gems Sale, wherein we're featuring some of our under-the-radar backlist titles and encouraging you to try them by offering them at a nice discount of 25% off!

Today's spotlight features the first major work from Rich Tommaso, a talented cartoonist and former Fantagraphics staffer.

Clover Honey by Richard Tommaso

Clover Honey

Clover Honey is the story of Abigail, an aspiring hitwoman out to prove her value to the family. She braves the wilds of Newark, exorbitant parking rates, traffic jams, and bad hair days to track down Trevor, her former mentor, who is on the lam with a big briefcase of mob dough. It reads like a collaboration between Jim Jarmusch and Quentin Tarantino, with its quirky humor, contemporary characters, and unflinching violence. A feast for readers looking for intelligent genre fiction in comics, Clover Honey is a gangster story that concentrates on character. Tommaso designed the look of the page with a combination of bold, fluid brush strokes and stark white highlights against solid gray background; the book is virtually two colors throughout.

120-page black & white 6" x 9" softcover
regularly $12.95 • ON SALE $9.71
Order Now


CMYK
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under miscellany 25 Jul 2008 10:24 PM

  

Your feng shui book idea of the day: color organizing. Found on chotda's photostream at flickr. Extra credit: Spot the Daniel Clowes books. 

Sketchbook #66
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Steven Weissmanart 25 Jul 2008 11:47 AM

Courtesy Steven "Ribs" Weissman:

Hidden Gems Sale spotlight: Carol Swain
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under sales specialsCarol Swain 24 Jul 2008 11:00 PM

Every day in July we're spotlighting books from our month-long Hidden Gems Sale, wherein we're featuring some of our under-the-radar backlist titles and encouraging you to try them by offering them at a nice discount of 25% off!

The subject of today's spotlight, British cartoonist Carol Swain, has been acclaimed by Alan Moore and called "the Raymond Carver of British comics" by Time Out, yet somehow still remains something of a secret.

Foodboy by Carol Swain

Foodboy

Foodboy is about loss and hope, friendship, faith, and bonds that are tested when the paths of two boyhood friends diverge. Gareth and Ross live in a small Welsh village; when Ross ends up alienated from society and living in a near-feral state after an encounter with a visiting troupe of Evangelists, it falls to Gareth to try to help him. Foodboy is drawn in Swain's trademark style of exquisite panel compositions.

80-page black & white 7" x 10" softcover
regularly $9.95 • ON SALE $7.46
Order Now

Invasion of the Mind Sappers by Carol Swain

Invasion of the Mind Sappers

A disquieting meditation on teenage fantasies in the tradition of Heavenly Creatures and The Miracle, Swain's first full-length graphic novel tells the story of Dai, Helen, and Ivan, three friends who believe that the earthquake that rocked their hometown was caused by — yes — a crashlanding UFO, survived only by their temporary headmaster. Are they right, or is the truth even stranger? Swain's brutally honest depiction of small-town life and her powerfully forthright graphic style create a bruising, harrowing masterwork.

80-page black & white 7" x 10" softcover
regularly $8.95 • ON SALE $6.71
Order Now





Ditko Radio UK
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Steve DitkoBlake Bell 24 Jul 2008 9:34 PM

 

Our pal James DC hosts a 1 hour special round-table discussion about Strange and Stranger: The World of Steve Ditko. James talks with comic book artists Brendan McCarthy and Steve Marchant and the author of the book, Blake Bell.

The show premieres 5pm - 6pm GMT, Thursday 31st July on Resonance 104.4 FM (London) / Globally streamed at www.resonancefm.com

The show will also be available for podcast/download a few weeks after airing. Check www.resonancefm.com for more info. We'll do our best to remind you when it happens.

Debuting at Comic-Con: SUBLIFE
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under John Pham 24 Jul 2008 9:27 PM

Published by Fantagraphics and making its world premiere at Comic-Con this weekend, SUBLIFE is a one person anthology series by John Pham featuring one single, serialized story (221 Sycamore St.) backed up by smaller, hopefully more self-contained strips. It should hit bookstores some time in the Fall, and the first issue will be squarebound, 64 pages, two-color. It'll feature the first part of the Sycamore St serial, as well as a nice two page genre strip called "Deep Space."Here are a few preview jpegs of the strips for your perusal.

John Pham will be signing the only available copies of SUBLIFE for the next couple of months this Friday & Saturday at Comicon at the Fantagraphics Books Booth (1716) at these times:

Friday: 2PM to 3PM
Saturday: 3PM to 5PM

  

 

Sketchbook #65
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Bob Fingermanart 24 Jul 2008 11:00 AM

Courtesy Bob Fingerman

Band of Brothers
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Kim DeitchJaime HernandezGilbert HernandezGene Deitch 24 Jul 2008 10:58 AM

Ah, it's a beautiful day in Seattle and currently the entire top floor of our building is occupied solely by myself and Adam Grano while everyone else gets their nerd on in San Diego. I could get used to not going to Comic-Con. (Note to Adam: can we get a ping pong table in here, toot-sweet?

Anyway, we just received advance copies of two new books (these are also debuting at the con) that will hit stores in early September: LOVE & ROCKETS: NEW STORIES #1 and DEITCH'S PICTORAMA. It occured to me that this means we will be releasing two books, on the same day, by two different sets of cartooning/sibling legends. Kind of cool.