Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> Tony Millionaire

Hooked for Life!
Written by Larry Reid | Filed under Tony Millionairehooray for HollywoodFantagraphics BookstoreeventsDame Darcy 31 Aug 2011 11:35 AM

DameDarcyStill 

Those of you lucky enough to be in Seattle this weekend be sure to drop by Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery on Saturday, September 3. You'll be among the first in the nation to screen "Hooked on Comix 3." Los Angeles filmmakers Audrey Mandelbaum and David P. Moore have been documenting the masters of alternative comix at the peak of their prowess since 1993.  Meet these exceptional filmmakers and see the latest installment of this truly wonderful documentary series, which features Dame Darcy and Tony Millionaire, two of Fantagraphics' most talented and eccentric cartoonists. The film will run continuously between noon and 3:00 PM. As an added incentive to attend — (like you need one) — we'll be offering 20% off on all books by the two stars on the film, all day long.

DrinkyStore

Fantagraphics Bookstore will be open Labor Day Monday, September 5 from 11:30 to 4:00 PM. Get all your back to school comix this weekend.

What's in the September Diamond Previews
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tony MillionaireMichael KuppermanKrazy KatJohnny GruelleJasonJacques TardiGeorge HerrimanDiamondComing AttractionsBlake BellBill Everett 31 Aug 2011 2:06 AM

Shipping November 2011 from Fantagraphics Books

The new Diamond Previews catalog is out today and in it you'll find our usual 2-page spread with our releases scheduled to arrive in your local comic shop in November 2011 (give or take — some release dates may have changed since the issue went to press). We're pleased to offer additional and updated information about these upcoming releases here on our website, to help shops and customers alike make more informed ordering decisions.

Our Spotlight item this issue is the gorgeous oversized collection Mr. Twee Deedle: Raggedy Ann's Sprightly Cousin - The Forgotten Fantasy Masterpiece of Johnny Gruelle. Classic strip collectors will also be happy to see our final Krazy Kat Sundays softcover Krazy & Ignatz 1922-1924: At Last My Drim of Love Has Come True and — finally! — the big "Vol. 1" hardcover, Krazy & Ignatz: The Complete Sunday Strips 1916-1924. Plus the Tony Millionaire art book 500 Portraits, Amazing Mysteries: The Bill Everett Archives Vol. 1, Jason's new short story collection Athos in America, and the long-awaited 7th issue of Michael Kupperman's Tales Designed to Thrizzle!

See them all here!

Tattoo time: Millionaire & Kupperman ink
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tony MillionairetattoosMichael Kupperman 29 Aug 2011 1:28 AM

http://www.fantagraphics.com/images/flog/mike/201108/tattoo-tonym-nyc.jpg

When someone at Staten Island comic shop Comic Book Jones tweeted about their tattoo of the NYC cityscape based on a Tony Millionaire drawing, we knew we had to see it and share it with all our Flog readers. And look what else we found in their Twitpic archives: one of their customers with a neck tattoo (!) of Michael Kupperman's Snake 'n' Bacon and a panel from Tales Designed to Thrizzle #6 on his arm!

http://www.fantagraphics.com/images/flog/mike/201108/snakenbacon-necktattoo.jpg

http://www.fantagraphics.com/images/flog/mike/201108/thrizzle-tiger-tattoo.jpg

Weekend Webcomics for 8/28/11
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under webcomicsTony MillionaireSteven WeissmanMichael KuppermanMaakiesJon AdamsJesse MoynihanArnold Roth 28 Aug 2011 11:14 PM

Our weekly strips from Kupperman & Weissman, plus links to other strips from around the web:

---

Up All Night by Michael Kupperman (view at original size):

Up All Night - Michael Kupperman

Barack Hussein Obama by Steven Weissman (view at original size):

Barack Hussein Obama by Steven Weissman

And elsewhere:

Forming by Jesse Moynihan:

Forming - Jesse Moynihan

Humblug by Arnold Roth (3 new udpates):

Humblug - Arnold Roth

Maakies by Tony Millionaire:

Maakies - Tony Millionaire

Truth Serum by Jon Adams:

Truth Serum - Jon Adams

First Look: Tony Millionaire's 500 Portraits
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tony MillionaireComing Attractions 26 Aug 2011 2:04 PM

500 Portraits by Tony Millionaire

...or rather, Jacob Covey's lovely cover design thereof. The area on the left will be faux cloth, while the right side will be uncoated paper — much like our Walt Disney's Mickey Mouse books. 500 Portraits should be available in about 3 months, give or take a couple weeks.

500 Portraits by Tony Millionaire

X-quisite Taste in Books!
Written by Larry Reid | Filed under Tony MillionairerockLou ReedJoe SaccoFantagraphics BookstoreDestroy All MoviesDaniel ClowesCharles Burns 24 Aug 2011 11:51 AM

Exene Cervenka

Russ informs us that punk legend Exene Cervenka of X fame dropped by Fantagraphics Bookstore on Monday evening with Phil Alvin of the Blasters to do some record and comix shopping. Visiting Seattle to perform at Neumos with X bandmate John Doe, Exene was reportedly pleased to find a copy of Talk to Her, a collection of interviews conducted by Krisitne McKenna. Exene is interviewed, along with counterculture celebrities like Lou Reed, Joey Ramone, Allen Ginsberg, Johnny Rotten, Joe Strummer, Chrissie Hynde, Joe Sacco, Elvis Costello, Walter Hopps, and Richard Hell, among others. The book includes portraits of interview subjects by Charles BurnsDaniel ClowesTony Millionaire and more. Pick one up. You won't be able to put it down.

Talk To Her  

P. S. Fans of X, The Blasters and other pioneering punk rawk acts would do well to get Destroy All Movies!!!: The Complete Guide to Punks on Film, which includes interviews with Exene and John Doe, a forward by Richard Hell, and chronicles countless cultural milestones. Essential.

 Destroy All Movies

Maakies & Xaime ink
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tony MillionairetattoosMaakiesJaime Hernandez 21 Aug 2011 11:58 AM

More tattoo fun for you today, via Facebook:

Drinky Crow tattoo

Melissa Crosslin Powers shared this beautiful Drinky Crow-in-space design inked by Dennis Del Prete at Providence Tattoo on our wall...

http://www.fantagraphics.com/images/flog/mike/201108/loveandrockets2.jpg

...and on the Tattoosday blog, via the Love and Rockets Facebook page, comes this Jaime Hernandez panel inked on "Steve" by En'vie Ink in the East Village of NYC.

Weekend Webcomics for 8/19/11: Kupperman, Weissman & more
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under webcomicsTony MillionaireTim LaneSteven WeissmanNate NealMichael KuppermanMaakiesKevin HuizengaJon AdamsArnold Roth 19 Aug 2011 6:36 PM

Our weekly strips from Kupperman & Weissman, plus links to other strips from around the web:

---

Up All Night by Michael Kupperman (view at original size):

Up All Night - Michael Kupperman

Barack Hussein Obama by Steven Weissman (view at original size):

Barack Hussein Obama by Steven Weissman

And elsewhere:

Amazing Facts... and Beyond! with Leon Beyond by Kevin Huizenga:

Amazing Facts... and Beyond! with Leon Beyond

Belligerent Piano by Tim Lane:

Belligerent Piano - Tim Lane

Humblug by Arnold Roth (3 new udpates):

Humblug - Arnold Roth

It's Not Easy Being a Man by Nate Neal for PRZman

It's Not Easy Being a Man by Nate Neal

Maakies by Tony Millionaire:

Maakies - Tony Millionaire

Truth Serum by Jon Adams:

Truth Serum - Jon Adams

The editorial process
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tony MillionaireComing Attractionsbehind the scene 18 Aug 2011 6:35 PM

Tony Millionaire portraits

At a point last month during the production process on Tony Millionaire's 500 Portraits, due this coming November, we were down to just a handful of illustrations we couldn't identify, so we sent some images to Andrew Leland at The Believer for his help identifying those that ran in the magazine. Designer Jacob Covey asked me to share this with you, saying "I believe it appropriately sums up our process." Click it to see it bigger.

Fantagraphics Bookstore's Fabulous Fall Line-up!
Written by Larry Reid | Filed under Warren BernardTrina RobbinsTony MillionaireShannon WheelerOil and WaterNell BrinkleyFantagraphics BookstoreeventsDame Darcyart shows 16 Aug 2011 9:38 AM

Make a habit of visiting Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery this fall as we approach five years of presenting comix culture to the masses. It just keeps getting better:

 Hooked on Comix

On Saturday, September 3 between noon and 3:00 PM, we host a sneak preview of "Hooked on Comix 3." Fimmakers David P. Moore and Audry Mandelbaum will be present for a continuous screening of the latest installment of their insightful documentary series on alternative comix. This one features the lovely Dame Darcy and always entertaining Tony Millionaire. Can't wait.

DrawingPower

On Saturday, September 10 we open Drawing Power, an amazing exhibition of cartoon advertising curated by Warren Bernard. On Saturday, September 24 Bernard will present a slide talk followed by a book signing from 6:00 to 8:00 PM. He'll be joined by visual artist and cartoonist Tom Neely presenting his latest "painted novel" The Wolf.

 OilandWater

On Saturday, October 1 we'll host a special preview of the topical graphic novel Oil and Water with journalist writer Steve Duin from 6:00 to 8:00 PM.

The Brinkley Girls

The following Saturday, October 8 we welcome comix legend Trina Robbins for an exhibition and slide talk on Nell Brinkley from her phenomenal book Brinkley Girls, who will be in town as an guest at the Geek Girl Con.

Don't miss a minute of the action. Visit Fantagraphics Bookstore daily. If you don't live here, with local housing prices remaining soft and the Seattle job market improving, now's a good time to move. See ya'll soon.