Home arrow Browse Shop

Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.

New Releases

Jim
Jim
$29.99
Add to Cart

Tales Designed to Thrizzle Vol. 1 [Softcover Ed.]
Tales Designed to Thrizzle Vol. 1 [Softcover Ed.]
$22.99
Add to Cart

Megahex
Megahex
$29.99
Add to Cart

Hip Hop Family Tree Vol. 2: 1981-1983
Hip Hop Family Tree Vol. 2: 1981-1983
$27.99
Add to Cart

all new releases

Category >> previews

That's right, we're moving to Dubai
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tim Hensleypreviews 2 Jun 2009 10:47 PM

Wally Gropius by Tim Hensley

Is this the title page for Tim Hensley's soon-to-be-collected masterwork Wally Gropius? I can only guess, but god damn I love it. Clicky click for process images that you can click to blow up bigger.

Paul Karasik's gruesome babies
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsPaul Karasiknew releasesFletcher Hanks 26 May 2009 3:25 PM

Paul Karasik with his two Fletcher Hanks collections

Paul Karasik poses with his two "sons," the Fletcher Hanks collections I Shall Destroy All the Civilized Planets! and what looks like an unbound proof of the forthcoming You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! (debuting at MoCCA 2009). Proud papa.

World Exclusive Jason preview!
Written by Kim Thompson | Filed under previewsJason 21 May 2009 10:37 AM

Werewolves of Montpellier by Jason - page 1 (uncolored)

(Click for larger version)

Jason's latest book, Low Moon, has not even been released yet in the U.S. (look for it to premiere at MoCCA, as well as to-be-officially-announced June events at the Strand in NYC, Portland OR, and our very own bookstore), and our hard-working Norwegian has already completed his next opus, another full-color 48-pager in the same format as the Eisner-Award nominated The Last Musketeer and the Eisner Award-winning The Left Bank Gang. Here is an exclusive preview of the first page from Werewolves of Montpellier, scheduled for release next summer. (In between, we will be releasing a Low Moon-format omnibus collection of several out of print Jason books, including Meow, Baby!, Tell Me Something, and You Can't Get There from Here, titled Almost Silent.)

Jason's regular colorist Hubert will soon be applying his magical hues to Werewolves. And in fact this seems like as good a moment as any to offer our heartfelt apologies to Hubert for forgetting to include his credit in the printed edition of Low Moon. Hubert has colored every full-color book of Jason's since Why Are You Doing This?, done an exemplary job every time (in fact, he was Eisner nominated too, for The Left Bank Gang), so I'm sure most regular Jason fans will automatically know that he was the man behind Low Moon's typically stunning chromatics, but we're still embarrassed. We hope Low Moon will sell out quickly so we can rectify this in a future edition.

Daily OCD: Bonus Twitter Edition
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under The Comics JournalSupermenPrince ValiantpreviewsPeanutsMichael KuppermanJohnny RyanBlazing CombatAl Columbia 18 May 2009 2:50 PM

Here's a few days worth of buzz from Twitter... I don't know if I can make this a habit (and this might be borderline obnoxious), but we'll see:

BeaucoupKevin: Between you, me and the fencepost, if DC or Marvel reprinted their Golden Age material in the Fantagraphics' SUPERMEN! format, I'd not mind.

Triphibian: The Prince Valiant collection from Fantagraphics looks very, very sexy. http://www.fantagraphics.com/princevaliant

Omnivoracious: New Fantagraphics catalog in the mail (candy!). Most enticing: Al Columbia's first book (http://tinyurl.com/oku8ge), Comics Journal 300.

saratea: @valientthorr I'm still on my Little Lulu/Johnny Ryan/lotsa Fantagraphics/Top Shelf releases & I still pull out the occasional Thor #nojoke 

MrGranger: I agree. RT @leaveittokaren: Reading: The Complete Peanuts vol. 11 1971-72 from @fantagraphics The series is fantastic! 

brettwarnock: Wow!... Fantagraphics' Late 09 / Early 2010 schedule is crazy goodness. Hotwire # 3! Newave, prince Valiant, Ditko, Gahan Wilson, Tardi... 

jwoliner: HEY Fantagraphics is releasing a collection of @MKupperman's awesome "Tales Designed To Thrizzle"!! Preorder here: http://tinyurl.com/qjkjwc 

PaulTobin: Score! A friend just sent me the new Blazing Combat hc, and now the studio is absorbing its "full of awesome" flavor. 

michaelthorner: @PaulTobin I was raving about Blazing Combat just a couple of weeks ago. @fantagraphics did a wonderful restoration job. More #AlexToth ! 

And this bit of business:

BRIANMBENDIS: Dark pet avengers just got the greenlight 

JorgenBakken: @BRIANMBENDIS DP Avengers? From Fantagraphics, for sure. 

Mome Vol. 15: Summer 2009 - Pre-Order, Preview
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under T Edward BakSara Edward-CorbettRobert GoodinpreviewsPaul HornschemeierNoah Van Scivernew releasesMomeMaxGilbert SheltonDash ShawConor OKeefeAndrice Arp 15 May 2009 8:44 AM

Mome Vol. 15 - Summer 2009 (cover by Andrice Arp)

The 15th issue of Mome is now available for pre-order. This issue boasts one new beginning (T. Edward Bak's "Wild Man"), two conclusions (Gilbert Shelton's "Last Gig in Shnagrlig" and Tim Hensley's "Wally Gropius"), new work from Dash Shaw, Andrice Arp (who also provides the cover), Sara Edward-Corbett, Conor O'Keefe, Noah Van Sciver, Robert Goodin, and Paul Hornschemeier, PLUS a bound-in minicomic by Spanish master Max! This book is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship in June and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

On our product detail page we've got a free PDF preview with pages from almost every contributor, plus the full table of contents so you can see exactly what's in the issue. Photo and video previews are still forthcoming -- watch this space.

Daily OCD: 5/14/09
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviewspreviewsMiss Lasko-GrossJasonGilbert Hernandez 14 May 2009 1:16 PM

Today's Online Commentary and Diversions:

• Review: "Low Moon collect[s] five good examples of Jason's bitter, funny sense of humor... Despite the funny animal surface, Jason's actually one of the best crime writers of this generation, and three of these pieces are very dark crime stories, with a sort of science fiction story about estrangement from love and the title story, a very funny parody of western movie clichés that doesn't require any knowledge of the originals. If you're feeling bleak about the bleak underbelly of human existence, this probably isn't your best relief, but if you can see the humor in it, there's pretty much no better guide working today." - Steven Grant, Comic Book Resources

• Preview: New York Magazine posts an exclusive excerpt from A Mess of Everything by Miss Lasko-Gross, saying "she writes about her own high-school years with affectionately brutal honesty."

• Plug: "Want a collection of one of the most brilliant comics of the modern era? Fantagraphics has released a collection of Gilbert Hernandez's Luba." - Matt Price, The Oklahoman/Nerdage

Prince Valiant Vol. 1: 1937-1938 by Hal Foster - Pre-Order, Bonus Feature
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Prince Valiantpreviewsnew releasesmetaHal Foster 14 May 2009 11:17 AM

Prince Valiant Vol. 1: 1937-1938 by Hal Foster

Prince Valiant Vol. 1: 1937-1938 by Hal Foster is now available for pre-order. This new series begins the definitive collection of Foster's masterpiece, reproduced from newly available original proof sheets for a truly revelatory reading experience and presented in a beautiful oversize hardcover format. This book is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship in mid-June and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that (subject to change).

Click through and you can download a free PDF of the first 10 Valiant strips! We don't have the photo previews yet (stay tuned), but we do have a nifty bonus feature for you: Kim Thompson's Afterword, "A History of Valiants," details the restoration and production of this edition and compares it with previous editions from various publishers around the world, and we've put it online for your reading enjoyment. Fascinating stuff!

(And don't forget, if you also order the black & white Libri Impressi edition of Prince Valiant Vol. 1: 1937-1938 that we imported specially from Portugal, you can get a special deal to save $9.99 off the combined prices!)

Previews: Fantagraphics Releases for August 2009
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Zak SallyUsagi YojimboStan SakaiRoy CranepreviewsPeanutsnew releasesMonte SchulzLove and RocketsLos Bros HernandezFemke HiemstraCharles M Schulz 13 May 2009 3:07 PM

THE COMPLETE PEANUTS 1973-1974

In our news section, we're pleased to bring you the lowdown on our books and comics slated for release in August, 2009, as will be seen in the pages of Previews. It's a big month! The list includes:

The Complete Peanuts 1973-1974 by Charles M. Schulz
The Complete Peanuts 1971-1974 Box Set
Captain Easy, Soldier of Fortune: The Complete Sunday Newspaper Strips Vol. 1 by Roy Crane
Rock Candy by Femke Hiemstra
This Side of Jordan by Monte Schulz
Usagi Yojimbo: The Special Edition by Stan Sakai
Love and Rockets: New Stories #2 by the Hernandez Brothers
Like a Dog by Zak Sally 

We also put up our actual Previews spread as a print-quality PDF file, just for fun. Jason Miles designed it and it'll clobber your eyeballs like a roundhouse from Capt. Easy himself. Click on through for the full dirt.

LOVE AND ROCKETS: NEW STORIES #2






The Comics Journal #298: Preview & Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videoThe Comics Journalpreviewsnew releases 11 May 2009 2:07 PM

The Comics Journal No. 298 - cover by Gabriel Bá and Fábio Moon

Now available for preview and pre-order: The Comics Journal #298, featuring interviews with Umbrella Academy artists Gabriel Bá & Fábio Moon; Perry Bible Fellowship's Nicholas Gurewitch; and Thriller artist Trevor Von Eeden, plus a gallery of Percy Crosby's Skippy strips and a whole lot more -- click here to check out the full Table of Contents. This issue is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship in mid-June and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that (subject to change).

View a photo & video slideshow preview embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended).
Thrizzle previzzle at ICv2
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsMichael Kupperman 11 May 2009 9:38 AM

Tales Designed to Thrizzle Vol. 1 by Michael Kupperman - ICv2 preview

Did you catch Snake 'N' Bacon last night? Kuppermania kontinues today with an exclusive 5-page preview of Tales Designed to Thrizzle Vol. 1 at ICv2.com!