Home arrow Browse Shop

Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.

New Releases

The EC Comics Slipcase Vol. 1
The EC Comics Slipcase Vol. 1
$94.99
Add to Cart

Cosplayers
Cosplayers
$5.00
Add to Cart

Walt Disney's Donald Duck: Trail of the Unicorn (The Complete Carl Barks Disney Library Vol. 8) [U.S./CANADA ONLY]
Walt Disney's Donald Duck: Trail of the Unicorn (The Complete Carl Barks Disney Library Vol. 8) [U.S./CANADA ONLY]
$29.99
Add to Cart

Batter Up, Charlie Brown!
Batter Up, Charlie Brown!
$9.99
Add to Cart

all new releases

Category >> previews

Preview video/slideshow: Sam's Strip by Mort Walker & Jerry Dumas
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesMort Walker 6 Feb 2009 2:04 PM

We're pleased to present another brilliant but short-lived comic strip from the mid-20th Century, rescued from obscurity and presented in a handsome softcover volume. Sam's Strip: The Comic About Comics collects the entirety of Mort Walker and Jerry Dumas's sharp-witted feature, ahead of its time for its use of fourth-wall-breaking meta-humor. Click here if the embedded slideshow isn't visible above, and/or to view it larger in a new window.

Connective Tissue bookplate sneak peek
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under signed bookplatespreviewsnew releasesBob Fingerman 6 Feb 2009 11:15 AM

Connective Tissue by Bob Fingerman outtake image

Here's a teaser for ya: Bob Fingerman has provided the image above, an outtake from his upcoming book Connective Tissue, for use on the exclusive signed bookplate that will be available when you order the book from us (we'll probably have it up for pre-order sometime in the next couple of weeks). Bob's the first -- and won't be the last -- artist to provide us with exclusive artwork for one of our free signed bookplates!

Preview video/slideshow: Mome Vol. 14 - Spring 2009
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesMome 5 Feb 2009 12:54 PM

Anchored by a 32-page story from first-timer Lilli Carré, the upcoming new issue of Mome features sophomore turns from Laura Park, Olivier Schrauwen and Gilbert Shelton and more exciting debuts and return appearances. Click here if the embedded slideshow isn't visible above, and/or to view it in a new window.

Daily links: 2/5/09
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewslife imitates comicsEllen ForneyDennis the MenaceBasil Wolverton 5 Feb 2009 12:10 PM

• Blurb: Comics on the Brain found Hank Ketcham's Complete Dennis the Menace 1951-1952 at an unusual place and got a great bargain

• Blurb: Manxom Vroom posts info about The Wolverton Bible by Basil Wolverton

• Blurb: Newsarama looks at the April Previews, including glimpses at some of our upcoming releases

• Oddity: A life-imitates-comics moment from Ellen Forney

 

Excerpt extravaganza: free downloads
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesMort WalkerMomeHumbugEsther Pearl WatsonDennis the MenaceBasil Wolverton 5 Feb 2009 10:35 AM

We've been busy bees making downloadable PDF excerpts available for several new and upcoming books. Unlike previously, when PDF previews were only available to registered users, these downloads are available to everyone (and of course they're free)! Download links are available on the product listing pages for the books listed and linked below. Try before you buy with these nice juicy chunks:

Hank Ketcham's Complete Dennis the Menace 1959-1960 - read all the strips from January 1959!
Unlovable Vol. 1 - preview the first 20 pages!
Humbug - see what the Humbug hullabaloo is all about by reading the entire first issue!
Mome Vol. 14: Spring 2009 - sample 15 pages, including almost every artist in the issue!
Sam's Strip - read the first full month of strips!
The Wolverton Bible - read the first 12 pages, comprising most of Genesis 1-6!




Preview video/slideshow: Humbug
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesHumbug 4 Feb 2009 11:33 AM

Here it is: the first public look at our long-awaited Humbug collection! This two-volume slipcased hardcover set assembles the never-before-collected, complete, original 11-issue run (1957-58) of the satirical magazine conceived and edited by Harvey Kurtzman and created by Kurtzman, Jack Davis, Will Elder, Al Jaffee (Kurtzman's MAD magazine cohorts one and all) and Arnold Roth.

Click here if the embedded slideshow doesn't appear above, or to open a larger version in a new window. And if you haven't already, you'll also want to check out our exclusive feature "The Production Evolution of a Humbug Page."

Preview video/slideshow: The Comics Journal #296
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under The Comics Journalpreviewsnew releases 3 Feb 2009 9:25 AM

The upcoming February 2009 issue of The Comics Journal is our annual Best of the Year issue, featuring interviews with the year's most acclaimed cartoonists: Lynda Barry, Frank Quitely, Dash Shaw and Mike Luckovich. Plus best-of lists from dozens of comics pros, a preview of C. Tyler's new book, a gallery of new Finnish comics, and lots more. Click here if the embedded slideshow doesn't appear above, or to open a larger version in a new window.

Preview video/slideshow: The Wolverton Bible
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesBasil Wolverton 2 Feb 2009 4:23 PM

Sweet merciful Jebus do we have an ever-lovin' load of books coming out in the next couple of months -- about a dozen of 'em, if all goes according to plan. The advance copies have been pouring into our office and we've got lots of preview photos and videos to share with you. We'll present one book a day here on Flog but if you're impatient you can head over to our Flickr page and gorge yourself on the first 5 sets right now, with many more to come shortly.

Today we're presenting The Wolverton Bible, which features hundreds of amazing illustrations of the Old Testament and Revelations by MAD pioneer Basil Wolverton. Click here if the embedded slideshow doesn't appear above or to open it larger in a new window.

First look: Unlovable Vol. 2 by Esther Pearl Watson
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesEsther Pearl Watson 23 Jan 2009 10:41 AM

Unlovable Vol. 2 by Esther Pearl Watson

Sweet baby Jane! We just barely got Esther Pearl Watson's Unlovable Vol. 1 out the door, and now we've got the cover for Vol. 2 to show you! This one will feature pink glitter and I'm guessing that the orange is going to be day-glo like the hot pink of Vol. 1. I'm betting that Vol. 2 will be out early next year -- Eric can correct me in the comments if I'm wrong.

First look: The Complete Peanuts 1973-1974
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under SethpreviewsPeanutsnew releasesCharles M Schulz 23 Jan 2009 10:28 AM

The Complete Peanuts 1973-1974

Here's the world premiere of Seth's cover design for The Complete Peanuts 1973-1974, this Fall's volume in the series. This is a preliminary version; the final printed version will likely have minor changes. If you'd been wondering (like I had) how Seth was going to handle the scale issue for the Woodstock cover, here's his beautiful solution. And watch out: the 1971-1972 volume (with Sally on the cover) is looking like it will arrive earlier than expected!