Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Heroes of the Comics by Drew Friedman - Photoset Preview
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsnew releasesDrew Friedman 31 Jul 2014 7:30 AM

"For those of you who weren’t lucky enough to meet the mad geniuses who created comics, Drew Friedman’s art gives you the best chance you’re going to have to see them through their smiles, the eyes that dreamed up fantastic worlds, and to get a hint of the lives they led." –Paul Levitz

"When Drew Friedman does something, you know it is much better than merely excellent. Here he salutes the pioneers, masterminds, and geniuses of a graphic form that delighted, excited, and scared the hell out of us. And we were enthralled by every panel." –Arnold Roth

"I am a cockeyed fan of the astonishingly wonderful artist/caricaturist Drew Friedman and his merciless honesty. It has been delightful to watch Friedman chase Hogarth, Kley, Nast, and them guys over the hill. He is to art what Guernica was to human observation." –Harlan Ellison

Heroes of the Comics: Portraits of the Legends of Comic Books
by Drew Friedman

184-page full color 9” x 12” hardcover • $34.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-731-4

Due to arrive in about 1 week. Click the thumbnails for larger versions; get more info, see more previews and pre-order your copy here:

http://www.fantagraphics.com/heroesofthecomics

Supertrash by Jacques Boyreau - Cover Uncovered
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsJacques BoyreauComing Attractions 30 Jul 2014 5:30 PM

Supertrash by Jacques Boyreau - Cover

Equal parts curated trash-culture imagery and multimedia collage—interspersed with exposition on the relationship between art and trash—the 220-page, full-color SuperTrash is an assault on the senses. This new title by Jacques Boyreau, a sequel to his 2002 work, Trash: The Graphic Genius of Xploitation Movie Posters, delves into the gonzo archives of 20th century design to seek out and dissect the co-dependencies of art and trash.

Available for pre-order now, and expected to arrive in a few months' time. Look for additional previews in the coming weeks!

The Lonesome Go by Tim Lane - Excerpt
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under Tim LanepreviewsComing Attractions 29 Jul 2014 2:00 PM

Tied loosely together by the experience of wandering, the collection of short stories in The Lonesome Go represents Tim Lane's continued exploration of "existential Americana." And the richly-drawn, detailed pages invite contemplation, rereading, and a wandering experience for the reader as well.

In our 22-page downloadable excerpt (12.9 MB), we are introduced to a bleakly introspective train passenger, a fourteen-year-old train hopper, and an unexpected, unwelcome Christmas guest. Read on, and perhaps wander over to our presale afterwards. We are expecting an early October 2014 release, with more previews on the way until then!

The Lonesome Go by Tim Lane - Cover

Age of License by Lucy Knisley - First Look
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsLucy KnisleyComing AttractionsAn Age of License 29 Jul 2014 11:30 AM

An Age of License by Lucy Knisley - Cover

An Age of License by Lucy Knisley - Inside Page

An Age of License by Lucy Knisley - Inside Page

At Comic-Con last week, we completely sold out of our booth copies of Lucy Knisley's upcoming travellogue, An Age of License! For those of you who weren't able to snag a copy then, here is a peek inside Knisley's latest memoir. More photos and video to come soon, and the book is due to land on bookstore shelves and at our warehouse in September.

Until then, grab a croissant, sip an espresso, and keep your eyes peeled for further updates on the Flog! An Age of License is also on presale, so you can reserve your copy now.

Wandering Son Vol. 7 by Shimura Takako -Video/Photo Slideshow
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under Wandering SonShimura Takakopreviewsnew releasesmanga 28 Jul 2014 8:00 AM

Wandering Son (Hourou Musuko / 放浪息子) Vol. 7
by Shimura Takako

220-page black & white (with some color) 7" x 9.5" hardcover • $24.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-750-5

Ships in: August 2014 (subject to change) — Pre-Order Now

Shimura Takako’s groundbreaking, critically acclaimed, and beloved Wandering Son continues to explore gender identity among its cast of middle school students in our 7th volume. Nitori-kun gets his first signs of acne. This may well be the end of the world. But when he turns to nationally famous model Anna-chan for help, events take an unexpected turn. Meanwhile, Nitori-kun and Chiba-san are scouted by the theater club after the success of their gender-bending play, The Rose of Versailles. But when Takatsuki-san congratulates Chiba-san, Chiba-san calls her a hypocrite. If Takatsuki-san wanted to join the theater club, she wouldn’t congratulate Chiba-san — she’d be jealous. So says Chiba-san, but what does she know?

View Video & Photo Slideshow in New Window



Heroes of the Comics by Drew Friedman - Video/Photo Slideshow
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsDrew FriedmanComing Attractions 23 Jul 2014 8:00 AM

Heroes of the Comics: Portraits of the Legends of Comic Books
by Drew Friedman

184-page full color 9" x 12" hardcover • $34.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-731-4

Ships in September 2014 (subject to change) — Pre-Order Now

Featuring approximately 75 full-color portraits of the pioneering legends of American comic books, including publishers, editors, and artists from the industry's birth in the '30s, through the brilliant artists and writers behind EC Comics in the '50s. All lovingly rendered and chosen by Drew Friedman, a cartooning legend in his own right. Featuring subjects popular and obscure, men and women, as well as several pioneering African-American artists. Each subject features a short essay by Friedman, who grew up knowing many of the subjects included (as the son of writer Bruce Jay Friedman), including Stan Lee, Harvey Kurtzman, Will Eisner, Mort Drucker, Al Jaffee, Jack Davis, Will Elder, and Bill Gaines. More names you might recognize: Barks, Crumb, Wood, Wolverton, Frazetta, Siegel & Shuster, Kirby, Cole, Ditko, Wertham... it's a Hall of Fame of comic book history from the man Boing Boing calls "America's greatest living portrait artist!"

View Video & Photo Slideshow Preview in New Window



Jim by Jim Woodring - Photo/Video Slideshow
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsnew releasesJim WoodringComing Attractions 18 Jul 2014 2:00 PM

Jim
by Jim Woodring

224-page black & white/color 7.75" x 11" hardcover • $29.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-752-9

Ships in: August 2014 (subject to change) — Pre-Order Now

Frank is, as everyone knows, Jim Woodring's bestselling cartoon character. Jim, on the other hand, is Woodring's cartoon alter ego, the fictional doppelganger who has for 30 years inhabited Woodring's alternate universe where shifting, phantasmagoric landscapes, abrupt, hallucinatory visual revelations, and unexpected eruptions of uninhibited verbal self-flagellation are common- place. Jim is a mind-bending collection of all of Woodring's best non-Frank creative work — comics stories, prose stories, drawings, and paintings, with a new introduction and afterword by the man himself. Abounding in metaphors if you choose to see them and naked self-disclosure if you don't, this volume of comics, prose, and images — collected here for the first time — is a bounty of Woodring's inspired artistry.

View Video & Photo Slideshow in New Window

Jim by Jim Woodring - Cover

Film Noir 101 by Mark Fertig - First Look
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsMark FertigComing Attractions 18 Jul 2014 11:20 AM

Film Noir 101 by Mark Fertig - Cover

Film Noir 101 by Mark Fertig - Inside Page

Film Noir 101 by Mark Fertig - Inside Page

We blame the arrival of this book at our office for the sudden urge to don sunglasses, pull out our trench coats, and light a cigar. Mark Fertig's lushly oversized coffee table art book, Film Noir 101: The 101 Best Film Noir Posters from the 1940s-1950s, is here!

Listen, we know you're no square. Get your kicks with our downloadable preview, then call dibs on the book when it comes out in August. You dig?

Megahex by Simon Hanselmann - First Look
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under Simon HanselmannpreviewsMegahexComing Attractions 17 Jul 2014 2:00 PM

Megahex by Simon Hanselmann - Cover

Megahex by Simon Hanselmann - Inside Page

Megahex by Simon Hanselmann - Inside Page

Get ready to kick back, relax, and light up a joint with us as we…Um, we—what were we doing?

Oh yes! Office copies of Simon Hanselmann's eagerly awaited debut collection, Megahex, have hit our desks, and we are ecstatic to finally see this beloved webcomic in printed form, beautifully bound in hardcover. Whether you're a first time reader or longtime fan of Hanselmann's Megg, Mogg, and Owl comics, make sure to check out our downloadable preview to cool your cravings. The book is available for presale and is expected to hit stores in a month or so!

BUMF Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser by Joe Sacco - Excerpt
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsJoe SaccoComing Attractions 14 Jul 2014 12:00 PM

Joe Sacco has long been known and praised for his work in comics journalism, with such titles as Palestine, Safe Area Gorazde, and The Fixer garnering widespread acclaim in The New York Times, TIME magazine, NPR, and The Los Angeles Times Book Review. Now, Sacco is returning to his satirist and underground cartoonist roots with the upcoming title BUMF Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser.

This in-your-face, no-holds-barred book is expected out later this fall. Feast your eyes on our downloadable 17-page excerpt (4.9 MB) here. And get ahead of the game — pre-order your copy now!

BUMF Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser by Joe Sacco - Cover