Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Vapor by Max - Excerpt
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsMaxComing Attractions 12 Sep 2014 2:00 PM

In this 10-page, 1.5 MB excerpt of Vapor, Nicodemu—er, nicodem—er, nick—has escaped to the desert, seeking "Solitude, Silence, Privation, Quiet." Instead, he is interrupted after several days of ascetic-level hermitage by the no-nonsense cat mosh, who brings our protagonist crashing back down to reality.

Vapor, by award-winning cartoonist Max, will be out in November. No need to meditate on this—head on over and pre-order your copy today!

Vapor by Max - Cover

SuperTrash by Jacques Boyreau - Photo/Video Slideshow
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsJacques BoyreauComing Attractionsart 12 Sep 2014 12:00 PM

SuperTrash
by Jacques Boyreau

220-page full color 8" x 8" softcover • $29.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-738-3

Ships in: September 2014 (subject to change) — Pre-Order Now

SuperTrash is the awaited, mutagenic sequel to Trash: The Graphic Genius of Xploitation Movie Posters (2002, Chronicle), the book that became a prophecy of the lasting influence of grindhouse and a model describing the shared evolution between art and trash. Now, original Trash author and curator Jacques Boyreau returns to the gonzo archives of 20th century design in pursuit of more bionic art-agony and trash-ecstasy. Serving together a mix of traditional movie signage and transgressive shout-outs, SuperTrash collages a trail of freakish delights and intellectual spin-kicks that track the co-dependencies of art and trash through sly, uncompromising essays about new wave hookers, bad gods, hermaphro chic, and, of course, Lee Marvin. Part psychedelic psychotronic, part poster book, part album cover book, part paperback pulp book. Interdisciplinary, quantal, and polyglottal, SuperTrash is Surrealism for the 21st century.

View Video & Photo Slideshow in New Window



The Complete Peanuts 1953-1954 (Vol. 2) [Softcover Ed.] by Charles M. Schulz - First Look
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsPeanutsComing AttractionsCharles M Schulz 12 Sep 2014 7:30 AM

The Complete Peanuts 1953-1954 (Vol. 2) [Softcover Ed.] by Charles M. Schulz - Cover

The Complete Peanuts 1953-1954 (Vol. 2) [Softcover Ed.] by Charles M. Schulz - Inside Page

The Complete Peanuts 1953-1954 (Vol. 2) [Softcover Ed.] by Charles M. Schulz - Inside Page

The second softcover volume of The Complete Peanuts, covering the years 1953 to 1954 of Charles M. Schulz's timeless comic strips, has landed on our desks for us to fondl—er, for us to review. This is the volume where Pigpen and his perpetual dust cloud join the cast—and where baby Linus acquires his iconic security blanket!

You can pre-order your paperback copy of The Complete Peanuts 1953-1954 (Vol. 2) here, or take a peek at our boxset of the first two volumes here. Even if you've been collecting the hardcover editions, these paperback collections make great gifts or to lend to the kids.

Set to Sea [Softcover Ed.] by Drew Weing - Cover Uncovered
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsDrew WeingComing Attractions 11 Sep 2014 8:00 AM

Set To Sea [Softcover Ed.] by Drew Weing - Cover

For the new paperback printing of cartoonist Drew Weing's debut nautical graphic novel, Set To Sea, we've completely redesigned the cover, which we're pleased to unveil today! The upward perspective of the ship's mast against a deep blue, star-studded sky create a delightful sense of anticipation and expectation that helps set the mood for this book that is equal parts quietly poetic and swashbuckling adventure.

Stay tuned for more previews and sneak peeks, which we'll post to the Flog and on our website, where you can also go ahead and pre-order your book. We expect Set To Sea to sail into stores by late October.

That is, unless you're going to SPX, in which case you should look for that deep navy blue cover at the Fantagraphics table!

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge: The Seven Cities of Gold by Carl Barks - First Look
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsDisneyComing AttractionsCarl Barks 11 Sep 2014 8:00 AM

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge: The Seven Cities of Gold by Carl Barks - Cover

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge: The Seven Cities of Gold by Carl Barks - Inside Page

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge: The Seven Cities of Gold by Carl Barks - Inside Page

Here is our first look at the beautiful advance copy of our next volume in The Complete Carl Barks Disney LibraryWalt Disney's Uncle Scrooge: The Seven Cities of Gold. With bright, vivid coloring faithful to Barks' original work and story after story of the ever-ambitious Scrooge McDuck's plots to mine even more riches from the world, this is sure to be a page-turner for fans of all ages.

In the titular story that inspired the famous boulder scene in Raiders of the Lost Ark, Uncle Scrooge goes on a gold-hungry quest in search of the mythical Seven Cities of Cibola, fabled to have roads paved with gold. For more info, to pre-order a copy, and to read a nice big excerpt, make your way over to our book listing page.

The Complete Peanuts 1993-1994 (Vol. 22) by Charles M. Schulz - Cover Uncovered
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsPeanutsComing AttractionsCharles M Schulz 10 Sep 2014 3:45 PM

The Complete Peanuts 1993-1994 (Vol. 22) by Charles M. Schulz - Cover

Gracing the cover for our newest volume of The Complete Peanuts is a rather morose-looking Peppermint Patty. This is volume 22 of our definitive collection of Charles M. Schulz's timeless work, with an introduction by CNN anchor and longtime Peanuts fan, Jake Tapper.

Each volume collects a full two years of strips, daily and Sunday, in crisp black & white. The Complete Peanuts Vol. 22 covers the years 1993-1994 and will also be available in a box set with Vol. 21 (1991-1992). Pre-order your copy now for an October delivery!

Bumf Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser by Joe Sacco - First Look
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsJoe SaccoComing Attractions 10 Sep 2014 9:30 AM

Bumf Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser by Joe Sacco - Cover

Bumf Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser by Joe Sacco - Inside Page

President Richard Nixon discovers a plethora of top-secret, otherworldly government facilities, with the primary focus being torture, homeland security, and riding giant wolves while naked except for a hood.

We're basically horrified by the advance copies of Bumf Vol. 1: I Buggered the Kaiser we've received at the Fantagraphics office. There are literal piles of naked, writhing bodies. There is unapologetically crass humor. No one is spared.

It is, in short, a most excellent book, fresh from critically-acclaimed comics journalist Joe Sacco. There is not much else to say. You're just going to have to read and assess this book for yourself.

Walt Disney's Donald Duck Box Set (Barks Library Vols 7 & 8) - Cover Uncovered
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsDisneyComing AttractionsCarl Barks 9 Sep 2014 7:30 AM

Walt Disney's Donald Duck Box Set: Lost in the Andes and Trail of the Unicorn by Carl Barks - Cover

Walt Disney's Donald Duck Box Set: Lost in the Andes and Trail of the Unicorn by Carl Barks - Cover

Two Carl Barks books are better than one, we think you'll agree! With that in mind, here is the slipcase cover art for the fourth Gift Box Set of our Barks Library Books, Vols. 7 and 8: Lost in the Andes and Trail of the Unicorn.

This quack-tastic box set will be out in stores by late October. Check out more info at the book page, where you can also place your pre-order.

The Complete Zap Comix - Excerpt
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under ZapVictor MoscosoSpain RodriguezS Clay WilsonRobert WilliamsRobert CrumbRick GriffinpreviewsGilbert SheltonComing Attractions 8 Sep 2014 1:00 PM

"The comic that PLUGS you IN!!"

It has been a long time coming, but we have at long last finalized the proofs for the monumental, deluxe five-volume collection that is The Complete Zap Comix. We hope this 60-page, 23.5 MB excerpt, sampling the first dozen or so pages from each book, will temporarily whet your appetites for what's to come.

Now it's full steam ahead with the production of this exquisite, comprehensive book set, and we anticipate it to land in bookstores by late November. It's not too late to start saving up couch coins and spare change in your piggy bank to fund your underground comix habit!

The Complete Zap Comix - Cover

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge: The Seven Cities of Gold by Carl Barks - Excerpt
Written by Sonia Lei | Filed under previewsDisneyComing AttractionsCarl Barks 5 Sep 2014 1:45 PM

With adventures, secret treasure, buried cities, and mysteries at every step, Carl BarksThe Seven Cities of Gold is a gripping tale starring our favorite curmudgeonly miser, Uncle Scrooge, and his duck family, Donald, Huey, Dewey, and Louie. Here is a 22-page, 6.6 MB excerpt of the titular story, taking us right up to the steps of the fabled Seven Cities of Cibola.

Will the ducks find the riches they've been seeking? How much chaos will the Beagle Boys reap this time? With an early October release, you won't have to wait long to find out! More info and our pre-order sale are up on our site

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge: The Seven Cities of Gold by Carl Barks - Cover