Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Hate Annual #9 by Peter Bagge - Previews
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsPeter Bagge 4 May 2011 12:43 AM

Here's another slightly belated photo/video slideshow preview of a current release...

Hate Annual #9
by Peter Bagge

32-page full-color comic book • $4.95 — Order Now!

Preview Jim Woodring's Congress of the Animals at The Beat
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsJim Woodring 3 May 2011 6:21 PM

from Congress of the Animals by Jim Woodring

Head on over to The Beat to check out the first 10 pages (including a title page) from Jim Woodring's new graphic novel Congress of the Animals.

The Complete Crumb Comics Vols. 13 & 15 - Previews
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videoRobert Crumbpreviews 3 May 2011 3:58 AM

Video and photo looks at our most recently reprinted volumes of The Complete Crumb Comics, slightly belated, but as promised — if they're not displaying for you below, click the titles to view them on their respective product pages (where you'll find more info about each book, natch):

The Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 13: The Season of the Snoid (New Softcover Printing)
by Robert Crumb

128-page black & white/color 8.5" x 11" softcover • $19.99
ISBN: 978-1-56097-413-0

Order Now!

The Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 15: Mode O'Day and Her Pals (New Softcover Printing)
by Robert Crumb

128-page black & white/color 8.5" x 11" softcover • $19.99
ISBN: 978-1-56097-413-0

Order Now!



Now in stock: Hate Annual #9 by Peter Bagge
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsPeter Baggenew releases 27 Apr 2011 12:00 AM

Now available:

Hate Annual #9 by Peter Bagge

Hate Annual #9
by Peter Bagge

32-page full-color comic book • $4.95 — Order Now!

Buddy & Lisa — back to Seattle! In the first full-length Buddy story in ten years (and it's a doozy), just when things are starting to look idyllic for our heroes, a family crisis forces Lisa to re-unite with her Seattle-based parents and brings Buddy and their young son Harold along with her — and Buddy quickly learns why she's been avoiding them for 20-odd years! And Lisa has some other unwelcome surprises in her family tree as well...

Plus, Pete gets political in cartoons from El Rios, High Times and Seattle Weekly. And a couple of ads!

Here's a peek at a few pages. Ooh, indicia:

from Hate Annual #9 by Peter Bagge

from Hate Annual #9 by Peter Bagge

from Hate Annual #9 by Peter Bagge

Publishers Weekly previews Dave McKean's Celluloid
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsDave McKean 26 Apr 2011 2:50 PM

from Celluloid - Dave McKean

Publishers Weekly's Ada Price actually found some SFW pages from Dave McKean's new erotic graphic novel Celluloid to share on the PW website! The sample shows just one of the many diverse styles McKean employs throughout the book.

Four Color Fear preview at Previews
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsFour Color Fear 25 Apr 2011 9:17 AM

The Corpse That Came to Dinner - from Four Color Fear

The second printing of our smash hit Four Color Fear: Forgotten Horror Comics of the 1950s is in stores now, and the fine folks at Diamond Comics Distributors have posted 9 delightfuly grisly pages from the book on their Previews website. Grab a snack and check it out!

Mome Vol. 22: The End
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tim LaneT Edward BakSergio PonchionepreviewsNate NealMomeLaura ParkKurt WolfgangDerek Van GiesonComing Attractions 13 Apr 2011 12:44 PM

Mome pinup - Sergio Ponchione

The Comics Reporter broke the news that the next volume of Mome, number 22, will be the last. CR's Tom Spurgeon commented and spoke to Mome editor Eric Reynolds about ending the long-running anthology; Rob Clough talked to Eric at TCJ.com; and Sean T. Collins comments at Robot 6. We thank the three of them and everyone else who has been a proponent of the series. I for one will miss the publication and abhor the vacuum its departure will leave, but look forward to Eric's future editorial efforts and future work from Mome's long list of contributors.

Pictured above, a Mome pinup created for the issue by Sergio Ponchione; below, artwork from the final issue recently posted by the contributors: from Tim Lane's "Belly Gunner" (see additional pages at his Jackie No-Name blog); from Kurt Wolfgang's "Nothing Eve" (taken from the New Bodega blog); from Derek Van Gieson's "Devil Doll" (see more pages and read his comments on his history with Mome at his These Days I Remain blog); from Nate Neal's "Death" (taken from his Flickr feed); pages in progress from Laura Park (taken from her Flickr feed); and from T. Edward Bak's "Wild Man" (see more pages at his °Ø° blog).

Belly Gunner - Tim Lane

Nothing Eve - Kurt Wolfgang

Derek Van Gieson - Devil Doll

Death - Nate Neal

halfway there

• Also working away on a new Mome story: Laura Park

Wild Man - T. Edward Bak

Deadspin previews 21: The Story of Roberto Clemente
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Wilfred SantiagoWilfred Santiagopreviewspreviews21 7 Apr 2011 1:35 PM

http://www.fantagraphics.com/images/flog/mike/201104/clementeart_01.jpg

Head to Deadspin to see the exciting 7-page sequence from Wilfred Santiago's 21: The Story of Roberto Clemente where Clemente gets his 3000th career hit.

Deadspin previews 21: The Story of Roberto Clemente
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Wilfred SantiagoWilfred Santiagopreviewspreviews21 7 Apr 2011 1:35 PM

http://www.fantagraphics.com/images/flog/mike/201104/clementeart_01.jpg

Head to Deadspin to see the exciting 7-page sequence from Wilfred Santiago's 21: The Story of Roberto Clemente where Clemente gets his 3000th career hit.

Murder by High Tide Teaser
Written by Jason Miles | Filed under previewsMaurice TillieuxComing Attractions 31 Mar 2011 2:33 PM

As we've been working on M. Tillieux's Murder by High Tide I've become gripped by Tillieux's cartooning, especially his panel composition and pitch-perfect, push-pull blend of "naturalist" and "cartoony" figure work.  What follows are a series of panels from Catch as Catch Can (the second story featured in Murder by High Tide) that I've been particularly struck by. Note: these panels, in their finished form, will be colored and lettered.

M. Tillieux - from Murder by High Tide

This panel reminds me of Toth or Xaime, what with how the acting, lighting and composition leads the eye to read Gil Jordan's darkened face and arm as he slowly creeps the door open to… what???

M. Tillieux - from Murder by High Tide

That's Gil Jordan dashing into the shadows as he's hot on the heels of Joe The Syringe. This panel stopped me cold.

M. Tillieux - from Murder by High Tide

I love this panel. I half expect to see my reflection in the rearview mirror. I used to think panels like this didn't work… or that you had to be Xaime to make them work, but time and time again Tilleux subtly or overtly places the reader's sightline in such a way to immerse your eye into Gil Jordan's four color world.

M. Tillieux - from Murder by High Tide

What could've easily been a throwaway panel graciously offers Tillieux's masterful drawing as acting equals cartooning!

M. Tillieux - from Murder by High Tide

Bonus! Six panel action sequence from Catch as Catch Can. (Click to see bigger.)

Tillieux's best work stands tensely between Hergé's ligne claire and Franquin's reverent bounce. It's the hearing-the-ice-crack tension of Tillieux's ink that brings it for me as it flawlessly meets the gestalt of the mystery thriller genre.  And if that weren't enough, Tillieux, like American film director Howard Hawks, is a master of characterization and letting the scene play out. As a fan of the comfortable character interaction of Hawks' Rio Bravo and Hatari, I could spend all day hanging out with Gil Jordan and his assistant, Crackerjack!