Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

First Look: Fantagraphics Releases for December 2009
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Steven WeissmanRobert CrumbpreviewsNewaveJordan CraneHo Che AndersonDennis the MenaceComing Attractions 11 Sep 2009 6:47 AM

KING: THE SPECIAL EDITION

We just turned in our listings for the October issue of Previews, for our releases scheduled for December. The issue won't be out for a few more weeks, but you can get a first look at what's on tap right here! Spoiler alert: it includes King: The Special Edition by Ho Che Anderson, the Newave! anthology of 1980s underground minicomix, the new volume of Hank Ketcham's Complete Dennis the Menace, a new edition of the out-of-print 12th volume of The Complete Crumb Comics, Uptight #4 by Jordan Crane, and Chocolate Cheeks by Steven Weissman! Another great month full of great comics -- the Fantagraphics juggernaut juggers on!

TFAW previews Pim & Francie and The Unclothed Man
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsDash ShawAl Columbia 8 Sep 2009 11:16 AM

Pim & Francie: The Golden Bear Days by Al Columbia

Things From Another World has two exclusive previews of upcoming Fantagraphics books up today! First up, Pim & Francie: The Golden Bear Days by Al Columbia -- in the brief profile of Al they posted on their blog they say "This is a stunning collection, offering an up-close-and-personal look at Columbia’s artistic mastery – and his psyche – that is impossible to ignore." Next up, The Unclothed Man in the 35th Century AD by Dash Shaw, collecting his Mome short stories and prep art for his IFC.com animation.

The Unclothed Man in the 35th Century AD by Dash Shaw

Mome sneak peek: Derek Van Gieson
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsMomeDerek Van GiesonComing Attractions 1 Sep 2009 10:53 AM

Devil Doll - Derek Van Gieson

At his blog, Derek Van Gieson presents some haunting teaser images from parts 2 and 3 of "The Devil Doll," his WWII story (written by Michael Jada) which will be serialized in upcoming volumes of Mome.

You Are There by Tardi & Forest - Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJacques Tardi 17 Aug 2009 9:35 AM

You Are There by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Claude Forest

The second entry in our project to bring the works of French great Jacques Tardi to American audiences, You Are There is a landmark book that pairs Tardi with Barbarella creator Jean-Claude Forest. This satirical masterpiece ushered in the graphic novel era to European comics with an unexpected combination of dark cynicism and playful fantasy. This hardcover edition is now available for pre-order in our online shop, and we've made the entire 19-page first chapter available as a free PDF download. This book is scheduled be in stock and shipping in mid-September, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

Mome Vol. 16: Fall 2009 - Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Ted StearnT Edward BakSara Edward-CorbettRenee Frenchpreviewsnicolas mahlernew releasesNate NealMomeLilli CarréLaura Parkjon vermilyeaDash ShawConor OKeefeArcher Prewitt 17 Aug 2009 8:50 AM

Mome Vol. 16 - Fall 2009 - cover by Renee French

It brings us great joy to welcome four of our favorite comic artists to the Mome fold in this Fall's Volume 16: Renée French (who graces the cover), Nicholas Mahler, Archer Prewitt and Ted Stearn. Of course, our returning artists are also nothing to sneeze at: T. Edward Bak, Dash Shaw, Lilli Carré, Conor O'Keefe, Laura Park, Nate Neal, Sara Edward-Corbett, and the "Cold Heat" crew of Ben Jones, Frank Santoro and Jon Vermilyea. This issue is now available for pre-order in our online shop. Download our free 12-page PDF excerpt for a sample page from each contributing artist. This book is scheduled be in stock and shipping in mid-September, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

West Coast Blues preview at ICv2.com
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJacques Tardi 14 Aug 2009 9:11 AM

West Coast Blues by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Patrick Manchette - preview

For an exclusive 6-page excerpt from Jacques Tardi & Jean-Patrick Manchette's West Coast Blues, in which two hired killers tail our protagonist as he takes his family to the seaside (tense!), head on over to ICv2.com. T-minus about 2 weeks until the book arrives for direct orders.

Cosmic Sublife 2 teaser from John Pham
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsJohn Pham 13 Aug 2009 8:40 PM

Deep Space Episode 2 page 10 by John Pham

"Deep Space" Episode 2, page 10, from the forthcoming 2nd volume of John Pham's Sublife, posted by John on Facebook. Wowie zowie.

Like a Dog by Zak Sally: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Zak Sallypreviewsnew releases 13 Aug 2009 2:39 PM

Like a Dog by Zak Sally

Acclaimed cartoonist and musician Zak Sally navigates the messy and murky waters of human experience with unflinching veracity in Like a Dog, a hardcover volume compiling the first two issues of his Eisner Award-nominated series Recidivist along with numerous other stories from the past 15 years, along with "liner notes" and other ephemera. This book is now available for pre-order in our online shop. Take an advance sniff at the book by downloading our free 10-page PDF excerpt. This book is scheduled be in stock and shipping in mid-September, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

First look: The Sanctuary by Nate Neal (with video)
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsNate Neal 13 Aug 2009 12:49 PM

The Sanctuary by Nate Neal - announcement

Coming next year: The Sanctuary by Nate Neal (compiling the 3 issues of his self-published comic plus 75+ pages more). More details TBA. This promotional video is pretty darn great -- Raymond Scott ahoy:

The Sanctuary Promo #1 from Andrew Perrine on Vimeo.

Bookmark Nate's The Sanctuary blog for future updates and previews!

Tim Lane sends greetings from Hotwire USA
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tim LanepreviewsHotwire 13 Aug 2009 11:27 AM

Greetings from Hotwire USA - Tim Lane

Tim Lane contributes the above two-page spread to the upcoming third volume of our Hotwire anthology. At his blog he's got closer looks, the concept sketch, and more background info. That "O" kills me.