Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Love and Rockets: New Stories #2 preview at ICv2.com
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsJaime Hernandez 13 Aug 2009 8:53 AM

Jaime Hernandez panel from Love and Rockets: New Stories #2

Check out an exclusive excerpt from Love and Rockets: New Stories #2 at ICv2.com -- 6 pages from the final chapter of Jaime's "Ti-Girls Adventures." We should have the issue in stock in a couple of weeks, and stores will have it next month.

This Side of Jordan by Monte Schulz: Pre-Order, Read Chapter 1
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesMonte SchulzAl Columbia 12 Aug 2009 2:39 PM

This Side of Jordan by Monte Schulz - cover by Al Columbia

Finally available for pre-order, one of our most anticipated releases of the year and our second original prose novel: This Side of Jordan by Monte Schulz is a picaresque novel told in the voice of a lost generation hurtling toward the Great Depression. A farm boy meets a violent gangster and an eccentric dwarf, encountering more curious characters as they traverse the American South. Featuring cover art by Al Columbia. This book is now available for pre-order in our online shop following its noteworthy debut (attracting the likes of Ray Bradbury and Joe Hill) at Comic-Con last month. To hook you, we've made the entire first chapter available for free as a 23-page PDF dowload. This book will be in stock and shipping in a week or two, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

Hans Rickheit at Home
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsHans Rickheit 12 Aug 2009 2:03 PM

From poet and filmmaker Chad Parenteau: "The following is footage from time spent with cartoonist and graphic novelist Hans Rickheit while visiting his home in Philadelphia, as he discusses his influences, his New England hometown, and his upcoming graphic novel, The Squirrel Machine. Thanks to Hans for the opportunity to let me attempt something film-ish." (YouTube link)

Woodring's Weathercraft: wow
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsOriginal ArtJim Woodring 12 Aug 2009 10:41 AM

 

Jim Woodring original art for Weathercraft pages 34-78

Another great day at the office yesterday as Jim Woodring stopped by to drop off this stack of original pages for his 2010 graphic novel Weathercraft. It's the middle third, plus a little more -- Jim has a little over 20 pages to go. Unanimous reaction among Fanta staff: awed speechlessness.

Rock Candy: The Artwork of Femke Hiemstra: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesFemke Hiemstra 12 Aug 2009 9:38 AM

Rock Candy: The Artwork of Femke Hiemstra

Presenting a unique art book collecting the work of the Pop Surrealism movement's brightest rising star. Rock Candy: The Artwork of Femke Hiemstra intersperses the young Dutch artist's stunning work with photos and ephemera demonstrating her process and influences. This book is now available for pre-order in our online shop following its hit debut at Comic-Con last month. Get a taste by downloading our 15-page PDF preview. This book will be in stock and shipping in a week or two, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

Prison Pit: Book 1 by Johnny Ryan: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJohnny Ryan 10 Aug 2009 9:36 AM

Prison Pit: Book 1 by Johnny Ryan

Are you ready to enter the PRISON PIT? The first original graphic novel from master of the gross-out Johnny Ryan is an over-the-top orgy of escalating ultraviolence and perversity as intergalactic monster criminals battle for supremacy in a barren negative zone! This book is now available for pre-order in our online shop following its sell-out debut at Comic-Con last month. Dip your toe in the Pit by downloading our 12-page PDF preview. This book will be in stock and shipping in about 2-3 weeks, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

West Coast Blues by Tardi & Manchette: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJacques Tardi 10 Aug 2009 9:19 AM

West Coast Blues by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Patrick Manchette

It begins! Our much-ballyhooed new series of Jacques Tardi translations launches with West Coast Blues, adapted by Tardi from the book by master crime novelist Jean-Patrick Manchette, now available for pre-order in our online shop following its hit debut at Comic-Con last month. An aimless family man is sucked into a spiral of violence involving an exiled war criminal and two hired assassins. Get a taste of this hard-boiled crime thriller with our 10-page PDF preview. This book will be in stock and shipping in about 2-3 weeks, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

Photo preview: You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsFletcher Hanks 7 Aug 2009 10:30 AM

You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks - front

Here's our final batch of overdue photo previews, at least for the time being: You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks. Watch the preview in the slideshow player embedded below; if it's not visible to you, or to see it full-screen (recommended), click here; if you don't like slideshows, browse here.

I went a little nuts snapping eye-catching panels, as you can see. There's just so many of them! I want to highlight two of my favorites below; the first one reminds me of Tim Lane, and the second for obvious reasons.

You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks - detail

You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks - detail

It's a good day at the office...
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsOriginal ArtGilbert Hernandez 6 Aug 2009 1:20 PM

Original art for The Troublemakers by Gilbert Hernandez

...when FedEx drops off a big stack of Gilbert Hernandez artwork. Behold, the entirety of his next book, the "Fritz film adaptation" The Troublemakers. Drawn at size. Amazing. Our production maestro Paul Baresh will be scanning this tonight. Probably a late Fall/early Winter release. Cover painting by Rick Altergott.

Locas II Previews previews
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsJaime Hernandez 6 Aug 2009 11:43 AM

from Locas II by Jaime Hernandez

The Previews website has an exclusive selection of 9 interior pages from the brand new Locas II: Maggie, Hopey & Ray omnibus Love and Rockets collection by Jaime Hernandez. Feast your eyes!