Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Conceptual Realism by Robert Williams: Previews, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videoRobert Williamspreviewsnew releases 17 Nov 2009 3:32 PM

Conceptual Realism: In the Service of the Hypothetical by Robert Williams

The eagle-eyed among you may have noticed that we've had Robert Williams's new art book/exhibit catalog Conceptual Realism: In the Service of the Hypothetical (both softcover and signed hardcover editions) available for pre-order for a couple of weeks; we've postponed our announcement until we had all of our previews in place. So here you go! Download an exclusive 8-page PDF excerpt right here, and view a photo & video slideshow preview of the hardcover edition embedded below. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended — and we also have a slideshow of the softcover). This book is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship in a couple of weeks (both editions will be released simultaneously) and in stores right around the same time (subject to change).

Exclusive preview of The Troublemakers by Gilbert Hernandez
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesGilbert Hernandez 17 Nov 2009 2:15 PM

from The Troublemakers by Gilbert Hernandez

CBR has a 10-page sneak preview of The Troublemakers — it picks up where our PDF excerpt leaves off. Stay tuned tomorrow for their interview with Gilbert (we'll post that too). The book should be out in about 4 weeks.

The Unclothed Man in the 35th Century A.D. by Dash Shaw - Previews, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesDash Shaw 17 Nov 2009 7:56 AM

The Unclothed Man in the 35th Century A.D. by Dash Shaw

Now available for preview and pre-order following its buzzed-about blockbuster debut at APE: The Unclothed Man in the 35th Century A.D. by Dash Shaw. This nifty hardcover volume compiles Shaw's storyboards, backgrounds, production art etc. for his IFC.com animated short of the same name alongside his acclaimed Mome short stories and more, all wrapped in a clever animation cel-inspired clear acetate overlay dustjacket. Download an exclusive PDF excerpt with the first 5 pages of 2 stories (10 pages total) right here. This book is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship sometime in the next few weeks and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that (subject to change).

View a photo & video slideshow preview of the book embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended).

Portable Grindhouse: The Lost Art of the VHS Box - Previews, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsPortable Grindhousenew releasesJacques Boyreau 13 Nov 2009 7:09 AM

Portable Grindhouse: The Lost Art of the VHS Box

Now available for preview and pre-order, one of our most avidly anticipated books of the year: Portable Grindhouse: The Lost Art of the VHS Box by Jacques Boyreau. This lovingly assembled tribute to a bygone era compiles some of the supertrashiest, most eye-searing home video art and packaging of the VHS era, with an essay by Boyreau describing how the format altered pop culture forever, all slyly packaged in a facsimile VHS-style slipcase. Download an exclusive PDF excerpt of seven of the most glorious spreads right here. This book is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship sometime later this month and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that (subject to change).

View a photo & video slideshow preview of the book embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended).

The Comics Journal #300: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under The Comics Journalpreviewsnew releases 10 Nov 2009 8:12 AM

The Comics Journal No. 300

Now available for preview and pre-order: the momentous 300th isssue of The Comics Journal, our biggest issue ever, with an unprecedented collection of "intergenerational dialogues" between some of the best and brightest of the comics and cartooning world. It's a lineup that truly must be seen to be believed — which is why we're showing you right here, with a teaser of each and every conversation! View a photo & video slideshow preview of the book embedded below. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended so you can read them). This issue is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship sometime later this month and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that (subject to change).

And here's an extra bonus: better late than never, a preview slideshow of the current issue of the Journal, #299 (with Bob Levin's incredible history of The Someday Funnies):

Daily OCD: 11/9/09
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Zak SallyTom KaczynskireviewspreviewsMomeJasonGabrielle BellDrew WeingAnders NilsenAl Columbia 9 Nov 2009 2:29 PM

A piping hot dish of Online Commentary & Diversions:

• Review: "...[T]his shaggy-haired collection of 15 years’ worth of artful zines and comics [Like a Dog]... reads at times like a history of psychological warfare. [Zak] Sally... tends toward richly dark, semiautobiographical, and tightly etched tales of tension and self-recrimination. Creepy dreams and images of anatomical self-analysis are recurring themes, along with the general sense of transience that marked Sally’s life while relentlessly touring with Low... At times the book... breaks out of that shell to address topics that are usually no lighter in tone though, as with his excellent retelling of Dostoyevski’s imprisonment, they benefit from the change in perspective. The art is equally claustrophobic when not downright disturbing. Revealing and witty, even when mired in darkness." – Publishers Weekly

• Review: "The Cold Heat material from Jones, Santoro, and Vermilyea is... imaginative and, particularly with Vermilyea at the drawing table, sharply delineated, as is Vermilyea's delightfully sick solo material. Josh Simmons impresses with his blackly comic strips... Tim Hensley kills it as always with the concluding chapters in his Wally Gropius saga, featuring peerlessly communicated body language perhaps the greatest anti-climax in comics history. I think this is some of the tightest material we've seen yet from Sara Edward-Corbett... Lilli Carré is alarmingly good at depicting male lust. Nate Neal's not-so-instant-karma piece in Vol. 16 is explicit and haunting. Dash Shaw is a restless talent, albeit so restless he never seems to settle down even in the middle of any given strip." – Sean T. Collins on Mome Vols. 14, 15 & 16

• Review: Lene Taylor of the I Read Comics podcast wonders if the humor in Jason's Low Moon exists in an alternate world (beware of spoilers)

• Review: Google Translate creates poetry out of this Portuguese review of Like a Velvet Glove Cast in Iron by Daniel Clowes at O Recíproco Inverso: "The art that is what Daniel Clowes you do best: people ugly. All the characters are people from day to day, dark circles, old-fashioned clothes, hair loss... out the freaks that appear, like the girl in the form of potato or the dog itself without holes, op.  You see, the Daniel Clowes does not draw badly, he draws very well what he wants to show. That is, ugly people. I will not give star ratings do not pro book, this is very scrotum. Just know that it's cool."

• Plug: "One hell of a messed-up book. ... Pim & Francie are Columbia's pet subjects — a pair of cute kids who are always stumbling into horrific nightmare scenarios. This isn't quite a collection of stories about them: it's a collection of Columbia's rough and finished materials concerning them that keeps veering toward storyhood, then jerking the steering wheel and plunging over the nearest cliff." — Douglas Wolk, Comics Alliance

• Plug: Chris Mautner of Robot 6 rediscovers Zero Zero by way of our 99 Cent Comics sale (issues are selling out fast): "Re-reading this stuff, it really startles me just how good and how ignored this series was and continues to be. I mean, the level of talent in these pages is staggering. Kim Deitch's Search for Smilin' Ed! Dave Cooper's Crumple! Richard Sala's The Chuckling Whatsit! Joe Sacco's Christmas with Karadsic! Not to mention Max Andersson, Skip Williamson, Mack White, Sam Henderson, Michael Kupperman, David Mazzuchelli and so many more. This really was the best anthology of the 90s, bar none."

• Preview: The Comics Reporter spills the beans on one of our 2010 releases: Drew Weing's Set to Sea

• Preview: If you want to read about our February 2010 releases in Portuguese, GHQ has you covered

• Things to see: Look who's popped up in Gabrielle Bell's cartoon recounting of her trip to Minneapolis: none other than Tom Kaczynski and Zak Sally

• Things to see: Cookies, Li'l Wayne, and inter-mythology love figure in the latest batch of sketchbook scans from Anders Nilsen

Sublife Vol. 2 by John Pham - Previews, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesJohn Pham 6 Nov 2009 8:03 AM

Sublife Vol. 2 by John Pham

Now available for preview and pre-order following its best-selling debut at APE: Sublife Vol. 2 by John Pham. Continuing the serials "221 Sycamore St." and "Deep Space" from the previous issue, this new installment of the one-man anthology also includes the post-apocalyptic action-adventure tale "The Kid" and a few other one-off short strips. Download an exclusive PDF excerpt of the first 5 pages of "The Kid" right here. This book is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship sometime later this month and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that (subject to change).

View a photo & video slideshow preview of the book embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended).

KING OF THE FLIES Halloween preview - page 6
Written by Kim Thompson | Filed under previewsPirus and MezzoComing Attractions 30 Oct 2009 7:53 AM

King of the Flies Vol. 1 by Pirus & Mezzo - page 6
(click image to enlarge)

See part 1 for more info about the book.


KING OF THE FLIES Halloween preview - page 5
Written by Kim Thompson | Filed under previewsPirus and MezzoComing Attractions 29 Oct 2009 7:52 AM

King of the Flies Vol. 1 by Pirus & Mezzo - page 5
(click image to enlarge)

See part 1 for more info about the book.


Popeye Vol. 4 preview video & photos
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsPopeyenew releasesEC Segar 28 Oct 2009 8:57 AM

Here after a slight delay is our preview video/photo slideshow preview of Popeye Vol. 4: "Plunder Island". I went slightly overboard with this one but holy smokes is there a lot of great stuff in this book! Click here if the embedded player is not visible above, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended). And don't forget our exclusive 15-page PDF excerpt (6.4 MB) with 5 pages of Sundays and 10 pages of dailies is still available for FREE download!

Popeye Vol. 4: