Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Fall 09 - Winter 10 Preview Part 4
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Steven WeissmanpreviewsMomeHans RickheitAl Columbia 16 Apr 2009 6:48 AM

catalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnail

All this week and next week we're bringing you a sneak peek at our Fall 2009 - Winter 2010 schedule of releases! Today's excerpt from our latest book distributor's catalog includes The Squirrel Machine by Hans Rickheit; the Fall and Winter volumes of Mome; Chocolate Cheeks by Steven Weissman; and Pim & Francie: "In the Golden Bear Days" from Al Columbia. (Note that all the info in this catalog is subject to change along the way to the books' release, including release dates, prices, cover art, book specs, etc.) Click here to download the PDF!

You'll Never Know, Book 1: A Good and Decent Man by C. Tyler - Previews & Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesCarol Tyler 15 Apr 2009 1:55 PM

You'll Never Know, Book 1: A Good and Decent Man by C. Tyler

Now available for preview and pre-order: You'll Never Know, Book 1: A Good and Decent Man by C. Tyler, the first of a 3-part graphic memoir chronicling the author’s relationship with her World War II veteran father, and how his war experience shaped her childhood and affected her relationships in adulthood. Tyler's lush color artwork is presented in an oversized landscape-format hardcover. This book is scheduled to be in stock around the end of this month and in stores approximately 4 weeks later.

View a photo & video slideshow preview embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended). And at our product info page, download a 10-page PDF excerpt!

Fall 09 - Winter 10 Preview Part 3
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Robert WilliamspreviewsJohnny RyanGahan Wilson 15 Apr 2009 6:48 AM

catalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnail

All this week and next week we're bringing you a sneak peek at our Fall 2009 - Winter 2010 schedule of releases! Today's excerpt from our latest book distributor's catalog includes a couple of books that we just teased you on yesterday — now you can get the full scoop on those plus one more: Johnny Ryan's original graphic novel Prison Pit; Gahan Wilson: 50 Years of Playboy Cartoons; and Conceptual Realism: In the Service of the Hypothetical, the new art book from Robert Williams. (Note that all the info in this catalog is subject to change along the way to the books' release, including release dates, prices, cover art, book specs, etc.) Click here to download the PDF!

The Brinkley Girls: The Best of Nell Brinkley's Cartoons from 1913-1940 - Previews & Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesNell Brinkley 14 Apr 2009 4:06 PM

The Brinkley Girls

Now available for preview and pre-order: The Brinkley Girls: The Best of Nell Brinkley's Cartoons from 1913-1940 , edited by Trina Robbins. This sumptuously designed, oversized hardcover collection of Brinkley's breathtaking, spectacular full-page strips starring silent-era ingenues, spunky flappers, and real-life heroines is literally stunning: verbatim office reaction to seeing the book for the first time was "Holy motherfucker!" This book is scheduled to be in stock this month and in stores approximately 4 weeks later.

View a photo & video slideshow preview embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (HIGHLY recommended). And at our product info page, download a 12-page PDF excerpt!

Fall 09 - Winter 10 Preview Part 2
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsMonte SchulzJacques TardiJack ColeFrom Wonderland with Love 14 Apr 2009 6:48 AM

catalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnail

All this week and next week we're bringing you a sneak peek at our Fall 2009 - Winter 2010 schedule of releases! Today's excerpt from our latest book distributor's catalog includes a new softcover edition of The Classic Pin-Up Art of Jack Cole; the anthology From Wonderland with Love: Danish Comics in the Third Millennium; our first two Jacques Tardi reprints, You Are There and West Coast Blues; and This Side of Jordan, a new prose novel by Monte Schulz. (Note that all the info in this catalog is subject to change along the way to the books' release, including release dates, prices, cover art, book specs, etc.) Click here to download the PDF!

Connective Tissue by Bob Fingerman - Previews & Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesBob Fingerman 13 Apr 2009 2:53 PM

Connective Tissue by Bob Fingerman

Now available for preview and pre-order: Connective Tissue, the new boldly bizarre illustrated prose novel from Bob Fingerman. Some meat-flavored candy takes video store clerk Darla Vogel on a trip to a weird, throbbing, monstrous other world! This book is scheduled to be in stock this month and in stores approximately 4 weeks later.

View a photo & video slideshow preview embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended). And at our product info page, read the entire first chapter as a 15-page downloadable PDF!

Fall 09 - Winter 10 Preview Part 1
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under The Comics JournalSteve DitkopreviewsPeanutsPaul Hornschemeier 13 Apr 2009 10:27 AM
catalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailStarting today and for the next two weeks we'll be bringing you a sneak peek at our Fall 2009 - Winter 2010 schedule of releases! We'll be slipping you a few pages at a time from our latest book distributor's catalog, which our fine friends at W.W. Norton uses to sell our books to the bookstore market. This first batch includes 4 upcoming issues of The Comics Journal, Paul Hornschemeier's All and Sundry: Uncollected Work 2004-2009, The Complete Peanuts 1972-1973, and Strange Suspense: The Steve Ditko Archives Vol. 1. (Note that all the info in this catalog is subject to change along the way to the books' release, including release dates, prices, cover art, book specs, etc.) Click here to download the first PDF!
Nate Neal Mome 17 cover sketch
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsNate NealMome 7 Apr 2009 3:47 PM

Nate Neal sketch for Mome Vol. 17 cover

This preliminary sketch for the cover of Mome Vol. 17 can be found on Flickr. Sez Nate: "Even though the image says vol. 16, Fantagraphics says that it must be used (if it is) for vol. 17...the story in that volume will connect to the cover image."

Luba preview at ICv2
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsGilbert Hernandez 7 Apr 2009 9:40 AM

from Luba by Gilbert Hernandez

Go check out an exclusive 6-page excerpt featuring the ever-lovable Venus from our forthcoming Luba omnibus hardcover by Gilbert hernandez at ICv2!

Abstract Comics - the blog
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesAbstract Comics 3 Apr 2009 8:47 AM

Abstract Comics

Andrei Molotiu, editor of our forthcoming anthology Abstract Comics, the first book to trace the history and survey the contemporary landscape of abstract sequential art, has started a blog to showcase the book and other work by some of the book's contributors. Bookmark/subscribe at abstractcomics.blogspot.com. Above: Jacob Covey's cover design for the book (updated: now in 3D!).