Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Tim Lane's Temptations
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Tim LanepreviewsComing Attractions 15 Oct 2009 1:10 PM

Temptations cut-outs by Tim Lane

Tim Lane is working on a cut-out-n-assemble diorama of The Temptations for his next book Folktaleson his blog he shares some of the artwork in progress and a few Temptations tunes to boot.

Pim & Francie by Al Columbia: Previews, Pre-Order, Collectors Edition
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesAl Columbia 15 Oct 2009 11:37 AM

Pim & Francie: The Golden Bear Days by Al Columbia

Now available for preview and pre-order: Pim & Francie: The Golden Bear Days and Pim & Francie: The Golden Bear Days - Collectors Edition by Al Columbia. One of our most hotly-anticipated books of the year, this gorgeous grimoire is part alchemy, part art book, part storybook, part comic book, and part conceptual art, a broken jigsaw puzzle of a book starring two childlike imps whose irresponsible antics get them into horrific trouble. We've put together an exclusive 24-page PDF excerpt which you can download right here. This book is scheduled to be in stock and ready to ship as early as next week and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that (subject to change).

The special limited Collectors Edition will come with an original sketch hand-drawn and signed by Al Columbia tipped in to the book. See here for a representative example of a typical sketch. This special edition is strictly limited to 50 copies and is available exclusively only to consumers who order direct from Fantagraphics. In-stock availability is TBD, but this item is almost certain to sell out during the pre-sale period, so don't delay in placing your order!

View a photo & video slideshow preview of the book embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended).

First Look: Gahan Wilson box set
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsGahan WilsonComing Attractions 14 Oct 2009 4:33 PM
Today we received the first bound copy of Gahan Wilson: Fifty Years of Playboy Cartoons at the office, and much productive time was lost as we all gathered around to paw over it and snap blurry, grainy cameraphone pictures.

UPDATE: Whoops, I jumped the gun there on that teaser — justifiably proud art director Jacob Covey has a better reveal planned, so forget what you've seen here and stay tuned! Sorry Jacob!

First Look: Fantagraphics Releases for January 2010
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsPirus and MezzoMomeJasonHotwireEsther Pearl WatsonComing Attractions 6 Oct 2009 7:48 AM

KING OF THE FLIES VOL. 1: HALLORAVE

We just wrapped up our listings for the November issue of Previews, for our releases scheduled for January 2010. The issue's not even printed yet, but we've already posted the listings over in our News section! Get the details on King of the Flies Vol. 1: Hallorave by Pirus & Mezzo, the new volumes of our Mome and Hotwire Comics anthologies, the second volume of Unlovable by Esther Pearl Watson, and our collection of out-of-print Jason stories, Almost Silent! Follow Fantagraphics as we forge ahead into the second decade of the 2000s!

Mome 17 revealed
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsPaul HornschemeierMomeComing Attractions 17 Sep 2009 2:08 PM

Mome Vol. 17 cover by Paul Hornschemeier

On his blog, Paul Hornschemeier presents some teasers from his Mome swan song, the final chapter of his "Life with Mr. Dangerous" serial, which will appear in the forthcoming 17th volume of the anthology. And look, there's the cover, also by Paul!

More video previews
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videoPrince ValiantpreviewsMomeJim FloraHal FosterFletcher Hanks 14 Sep 2009 11:36 AM
I won't choke your browser with any more embedded video players, but as promised, we've posted 4 more video previews of Summer '09 releases, which you can see at the product info pages at the following links: Mome Vol. 15 - Summer 2009, Prince Valiant Vol. 1: 1937-1938 by Hal Foster, The Sweetly Diabolic Art of Jim Flora, and You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks. We should hopefully have another batch up soon.
Slideshow previews: Like a Dog, Mome 16, You Are There
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Zak SallyvideopreviewsMomeJacques Tardi 14 Sep 2009 8:04 AM

We got a new camera! Presenting video/photo preview slideshows of:

Like a Dog by Zak Sally (open slideshow in new window):

Mome Vol. 16 - Fall 2009 by various artists (open slideshow in new window):

You Are There by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Claude Forest (open slideshow in new window):

We've got a big backlog of recent releases that still need the photo/video treatment, and we'll be filling those in in the coming days if all goes well.

Popeye Vol. 4: Plunder Island - Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsPopeyenew releasesEC Segar 11 Sep 2009 8:39 AM

Popeye Vol. 4:

The new volume of the complete E.C. Segar Popeye, Vol. 4 of 6, includes one of the strip's highest peaks, the “Plunder Island” adventure, presented here for the first time in its complete, full-color, uncut glory! This oversized hardcover is now available for pre-order in our online shop, and we've have an exclusive 15-page PDF excerpt (6.4 MB) with 5 pages of Sundays and 10 pages of dailies available for free download. This book is scheduled be in stock and shipping in mid-October, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

First Look: Fantagraphics Releases for December 2009
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Steven WeissmanRobert CrumbpreviewsNewaveJordan CraneHo Che AndersonDennis the MenaceComing Attractions 11 Sep 2009 7:47 AM

KING: THE SPECIAL EDITION

We just turned in our listings for the October issue of Previews, for our releases scheduled for December. The issue won't be out for a few more weeks, but you can get a first look at what's on tap right here! Spoiler alert: it includes King: The Special Edition by Ho Che Anderson, the Newave! anthology of 1980s underground minicomix, the new volume of Hank Ketcham's Complete Dennis the Menace, a new edition of the out-of-print 12th volume of The Complete Crumb Comics, Uptight #4 by Jordan Crane, and Chocolate Cheeks by Steven Weissman! Another great month full of great comics -- the Fantagraphics juggernaut juggers on!

TFAW previews Pim & Francie and The Unclothed Man
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsDash ShawAl Columbia 8 Sep 2009 12:16 PM

Pim & Francie: The Golden Bear Days by Al Columbia

Things From Another World has two exclusive previews of upcoming Fantagraphics books up today! First up, Pim & Francie: The Golden Bear Days by Al Columbia -- in the brief profile of Al they posted on their blog they say "This is a stunning collection, offering an up-close-and-personal look at Columbia’s artistic mastery – and his psyche – that is impossible to ignore." Next up, The Unclothed Man in the 35th Century AD by Dash Shaw, collecting his Mome short stories and prep art for his IFC.com animation.

The Unclothed Man in the 35th Century AD by Dash Shaw