Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Hans Rickheit at Home
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsHans Rickheit 12 Aug 2009 3:03 PM

From poet and filmmaker Chad Parenteau: "The following is footage from time spent with cartoonist and graphic novelist Hans Rickheit while visiting his home in Philadelphia, as he discusses his influences, his New England hometown, and his upcoming graphic novel, The Squirrel Machine. Thanks to Hans for the opportunity to let me attempt something film-ish." (YouTube link)

Woodring's Weathercraft: wow
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsOriginal ArtJim Woodring 12 Aug 2009 11:41 AM

 

Jim Woodring original art for Weathercraft pages 34-78

Another great day at the office yesterday as Jim Woodring stopped by to drop off this stack of original pages for his 2010 graphic novel Weathercraft. It's the middle third, plus a little more -- Jim has a little over 20 pages to go. Unanimous reaction among Fanta staff: awed speechlessness.

Rock Candy: The Artwork of Femke Hiemstra: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesFemke Hiemstra 12 Aug 2009 10:38 AM

Rock Candy: The Artwork of Femke Hiemstra

Presenting a unique art book collecting the work of the Pop Surrealism movement's brightest rising star. Rock Candy: The Artwork of Femke Hiemstra intersperses the young Dutch artist's stunning work with photos and ephemera demonstrating her process and influences. This book is now available for pre-order in our online shop following its hit debut at Comic-Con last month. Get a taste by downloading our 15-page PDF preview. This book will be in stock and shipping in a week or two, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

Prison Pit: Book 1 by Johnny Ryan: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJohnny Ryan 10 Aug 2009 10:36 AM

Prison Pit: Book 1 by Johnny Ryan

Are you ready to enter the PRISON PIT? The first original graphic novel from master of the gross-out Johnny Ryan is an over-the-top orgy of escalating ultraviolence and perversity as intergalactic monster criminals battle for supremacy in a barren negative zone! This book is now available for pre-order in our online shop following its sell-out debut at Comic-Con last month. Dip your toe in the Pit by downloading our 12-page PDF preview. This book will be in stock and shipping in about 2-3 weeks, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

West Coast Blues by Tardi & Manchette: Preview, Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJacques Tardi 10 Aug 2009 10:19 AM

West Coast Blues by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Patrick Manchette

It begins! Our much-ballyhooed new series of Jacques Tardi translations launches with West Coast Blues, adapted by Tardi from the book by master crime novelist Jean-Patrick Manchette, now available for pre-order in our online shop following its hit debut at Comic-Con last month. An aimless family man is sucked into a spiral of violence involving an exiled war criminal and two hired assassins. Get a taste of this hard-boiled crime thriller with our 10-page PDF preview. This book will be in stock and shipping in about 2-3 weeks, and in stores approximately 4 weeks later (subject to change).

Photo preview: You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsFletcher Hanks 7 Aug 2009 11:30 AM

You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks - front

Here's our final batch of overdue photo previews, at least for the time being: You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks. Watch the preview in the slideshow player embedded below; if it's not visible to you, or to see it full-screen (recommended), click here; if you don't like slideshows, browse here.

I went a little nuts snapping eye-catching panels, as you can see. There's just so many of them! I want to highlight two of my favorites below; the first one reminds me of Tim Lane, and the second for obvious reasons.

You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks - detail

You Shall Die by Your Own Evil Creation! by Fletcher Hanks - detail

It's a good day at the office...
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsOriginal ArtGilbert Hernandez 6 Aug 2009 2:20 PM

Original art for The Troublemakers by Gilbert Hernandez

...when FedEx drops off a big stack of Gilbert Hernandez artwork. Behold, the entirety of his next book, the "Fritz film adaptation" The Troublemakers. Drawn at size. Amazing. Our production maestro Paul Baresh will be scanning this tonight. Probably a late Fall/early Winter release. Cover painting by Rick Altergott.

Locas II Previews previews
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsJaime Hernandez 6 Aug 2009 12:43 PM

from Locas II by Jaime Hernandez

The Previews website has an exclusive selection of 9 interior pages from the brand new Locas II: Maggie, Hopey & Ray omnibus Love and Rockets collection by Jaime Hernandez. Feast your eyes!

Previews & Pre-Orders: Giraffes & Monkeys & Squirrels, oh my!
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJoe DalyHans RickheitCarol Swain 6 Aug 2009 10:40 AM

We have a trio of new original graphic novels with coincidentally zoological titles, all now available for pre-order. All of them debuted to a great response at Comic-Con last month; they should be in stock here and ready to ship later this month, and in stores approximately 4 weeks after that. Click the links for each book below for more info and to access downloadable PDF excerpts!

Giraffes in My Hair: A Rock 'n' Roll Life by Bruce Paley & Carol Swain

Giraffes in My Hair: A Rock 'n' Roll Life by Bruce Paley & Carol Swain - A comics memoir of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll, a life lived in the countercultural margins, from the optimism of the Summer of Love to the nihilism of the punk years, vividly brought to life with compelling visuals by the cartoonist Time Out called "the Raymond Carver of British comics."

The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book by Joe Daly

The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book by Joe Daly - Set in sun-drenched Cape Town, South Africa, this book features two full-length stories, “The Leaking Cello Case” and “John Wesley Harding,” rife with mystery, suspense, action, adventure, conspiracy theories, cool cars and excellent weed. From the creator of the Eisner-nominated Scrublands.

The Squirrel Machine by Hans Rickheit

The Squirrel Machine by Hans Rickheit - Meticulous, strange, and hauntingly beautiful, this evocative and enigmatic book will ensure the inquisitive reader a spleenful of cerebral serenity that will take exposure to vast quantities of mediocrity to dispel.

Photo preview: Mome Vol. 15
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsMome 5 Aug 2009 10:09 AM

Mome Vol. 15: Summer 2009 - cover by Andrice Arp by you.

Another batch of photo previews for you: Mome Vol. 15 - Summer 2009, which just hit stores last week. Watch the preview in the slideshow player embedded below; if it's not visible to you, or to see it full-screen (recommended), click here; if you don't like slideshows, browse here.