Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Members Preview: Strange and Stranger - The World of Steve Ditko
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Steve Ditkopreviewsnew releasesBlake Bell 7 May 2008 10:15 AM

Strange and Stranger: The World of Steve Ditko by Blake Bell

This week's free preview is a downloadable 10-page excerpt from Strange and Stranger: The World of Steve Ditko, the upcoming retrospective of the life and work of the Spider-Man and Dr. Strange co-creator from author Blake Bell. These previews are exclusive to registered Fantagraphics.com users, so sign up and/or sign in to view.

(As a reminder, 20/20 Club members receive these previews two weeks before we post them on the website, just one of many great reasons to join up...)

Sneak peek video & photos: Rebel Visions
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Rebel VisionspreviewsPatrick Rosenkranznew releases 5 May 2008 10:23 AM

Presenting a random flip through the pages of the new softcover edition of Rebel Visions: The Underground Comix Revolution 1963-1975 by Patrick Rosenkranz, coming soon. We also have a gallery of detailed still photos you can browse or view as a slideshow on Flickr.

(We'd love to get your feedback on presenting sneak peeks in video format like this, so please leave a comment here if you have any thoughts. Thanks!) 

Members Preview: The Number 73304-23-4153-6-96-8
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Thomas Ottpreviewsnew releasesmeta 30 Apr 2008 2:34 PM

The Number 73304-23-4153-6-96-8 by Thomas Ott

This week's free preview is a downloadable 20-page excerpt from The Number 73304-23-4153-6-96-8, the upcoming book from Swiss horror master Thomas Ott -- his first full-length graphic novel. These previews are exclusive to registered Fantagraphics.com users, so sign up and/or sign in to view.

(As a reminder, 20/20 Club members receive these previews two weeks before we post them on the website, just one of many great reasons to join up...)
The Troublemakers cover painting
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Rick AltergottpreviewsOriginal ArtGilbert Hernandezart 24 Apr 2008 11:11 AM

Rick Altergott's original painting for the cover of The Troublemakers by Gilbert Hernandez

Here's some more original art that's lurking in our Art Department: Rick Altergott's painting for the cover of The Troublemakers, Gilbert Hernandez's forthcoming follow-up to his widely acclaimed graphic novel Chance in Hell, which also features a cover painting by Rick.

Will Elder original Humbug art
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Will ElderpreviewsOriginal ArtHumbugart 24 Apr 2008 10:02 AM

Will Elder original art from Humbug, 1956

We got another package of original Humbug art, this time from Will Elder. Here's an example in keeping with the Christmas theme of the Al Jaffee art we posted previously. Click any of the photos for larger versions.

Here it is with the color overlay:

Will Elder original art from Humbug, 1956

And here's a detail shot:

Will Elder original art from Humbug, 1956

And don't forget to check out our feature detailing the production process of restoring a Humbug page.

Ditko-rama!
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Steve Ditkopreviewsnew releasesmetaBlake Bell 23 Apr 2008 2:05 PM

Strange and Stranger: The World of Steve Ditko by Blake Bell

We've just made Strange and Stranger: The World of Steve Ditko available for pre-order here on our website, and we've got some great preview and bonus materials to go along with it!

First off, read author Blake Bell's introduction to the book in its entirety right here.

Next, we've got a groovy desktop wallpaper you can download in multiple sizes (more wallpapers can be found here):

800 x 600 | 1024 x 768 | 1152 x 864 | 1280 x 960 | 1280 x 720 | iPhone

And 20/20 Club members, look for an exclusive 10-page downloadable excerpt in your weekly newsletter today! (If you're not a member, stay tuned: we'll be making it available to registered users in 2 weeks.)

Sneak peek photos: Bottomless Belly Button
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesDash Shaw 22 Apr 2008 12:43 PM

For those of you who weren't able to see it in person at NYCC, we've posted a big set of photos of Dash Shaw's Bottomless Belly Button on Flickr. Check them out to get a sense of the texture and volume of this hefty book, plus a sneak peek at some interior pages: for a Flickr slideshow, click here, or to browse manually, click here.

Bottomless Belly Button by Dash Shaw - Bottomless Belly Button by Dash Shaw -

Members Preview: Rebel Visions
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Rebel VisionspreviewsPatrick Rosenkranznew releasesmeta 16 Apr 2008 4:07 PM

Rebel Visions by Patrick Rosenkranz

This week's free preview is a downloadable 25-page excerpt — the entire first chapter — from the upcoming expanded and revised softcover edition of Rebel Visions: The Underground Comix Revolution 1963-1975, the definitive history of the era by Patrick Rosenkranz. These previews are exclusive to registered Fantagraphics.com users, so sign up and/or sign in to view.

(As a reminder, 20/20 Club members receive these previews two weeks before we post them on the website, just one of many great reasons to join up...)
Al Jaffee original Humbug art
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsHumbug 15 Apr 2008 12:39 PM

Al Jaffee original art from Humbug, 1956

We recently received a large package of original art from Al Jaffee for our upcoming complete Humbug collection. Here's just one amazing example -- click the image above to see a high-res version, and click here for a set with close-up detail photos. Also, if you haven't seen it already, see our nifty feature detailing the production process of restoring a Humbug page.

Sneak peek photos: Explainers
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesJules Feiffer 15 Apr 2008 11:06 AM

Explainers by Jules Feiffer

Have a look at (and inside) a real-life copy of the upcoming book Explainers - The Complete Village Voice Strips (1956-66) by Jules Feiffer. For a Flickr slideshow, click here, or to browse manually, click here. (And don't forget you can read the Introduction, and preview more strips, here; and registered users can download yet another preview excerpt here.)