Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Sneak peek photos: Comic Arf
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesArf 11 Apr 2008 2:01 PM

Comic Arf by various artists, ed. by Craig Yoe

Here's another daily photographic sneak peek at (and inside) an upcoming book that we recently received "in the flesh" at the office. Today it's the latest volume in Craig Yoe's wild-n-wacky Arf series of anthologies, Comic Arf. For a Flickr slideshow, click here (link fixed!), or to browse manually, click here.

Sneak peek photos: Amor Y Cohetes
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsLos Bros Hernandez 10 Apr 2008 12:42 PM

Amor Y Cohetes - A Love and Rockets Book by Los Bros Hernandez

Time for another daily photographic sneak peek at an upcoming book that we recently received "in the flesh" at the office. Today it's the latest and final (for now) volume in our Love and Rockets Library reprint series, Amor Y Cohetes, collecting all the stand-alone non-continuity stuff from L&R Vol. 1. For a Flickr slideshow, click here, or to browse manually, click here.

Sneak peek photos: The Number 73304-23-4153-6-96-8
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Thomas Ottpreviewsnew releases 9 Apr 2008 3:14 PM

The Number 73304-23-4153-6-96-8 by Thomas Ott

Each day this week (except yesterday, when we didn't have time) we're bringing you a photographic sneak peek of a different upcoming book that we recently received "in the flesh" at the office. Today we've got Thomas Ott's new one The Number 73304-23-4153-6-96-8: for a Flickr slideshow, click here, or to browse manually, click here.

Members Preview: Bottomless Belly Button
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesmetaDash Shaw 9 Apr 2008 2:09 PM

Bottomless Belly Button by Dash Shaw

This week's free preview is a downloadable 37-page excerpt from Bottomless Belly Button, the upcoming 720-page graphic novel from Dash Shaw chronicling the dysfunctional adventures of the Loony family. These previews are exclusive to registered Fantagraphics.com users, so sign up and/or sign in to view.

(As a reminder, 20/20 Club members receive these previews two weeks before we post them on the website, just one of many great reasons to join up...)
Sneak peek photos: Mome Vol. 11
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesMomeKilloffer 7 Apr 2008 3:47 PM

Mome Vol. 11: Summer 2008 - front cover by Killoffer

We received advance copies of a plethora of upcoming books at the office last week. Time permitting, we'll be bringing you a photographic sneak peek of a different book each day this week! Today we've got Mome Vol. 11: for a Flickr slideshow, click here, or to browse manually, click here.

Humbug behind the scenes
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsmetaHumbug 7 Apr 2008 1:13 PM

Humbug original art

We have a very cool new feature up, suggested by Gary Groth and written by production ace Paul Baresh, tracing the process of restoration of a page from the late-1950s humor magazine Humbug (created and edited, post-MAD, by Harvey Kurtzman) for our forthcoming collection (due in late summer). Check it out!

Pictorama preview
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsKim Deitch 4 Apr 2008 1:18 PM

Deitch's Pictorama (coming in July 2008) - page from "The Cop on the Beat, the Man in the Moon and Me"

We've put a handful of preliminary pages from Deitch's Pictorama (due to debut in July at Comic-Con in San Diego) up on our Flickr page — browse manually or view a slideshow!

Read the Rebel Visions introduction
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under Rebel VisionspreviewsPatrick Rosenkranznew releasesmeta 2 Apr 2008 2:55 PM

Rebel Visions: The Underground Comix Revolution 1963-1975 by Patrick Rosenkranz

Now reprinted here on the Fantagraphics website for your reading enjoyment: the full Introduction to the forthcoming, revised softcover edition of Rebel Visions: The Underground Comix Revolution 1963-1975 by Patrick Rosenkranz. It actually comprises 3 sections: the Foreword, "The Setting" and "Distant Early Warnings." Read it here.

Stack O'Xaime
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsJaime Hernandez 28 Mar 2008 10:54 AM

Flog! Photo Friday continues with the complete stack of Jaime Hernandez's original artwork for his 50-page story in Love and Rockets: New Stories #1, the first issue of the new, annual incarnation of Love and Rockets, which will debut in July at ComiCon in San Diego:

Love and Rockets: New Stories #1 original art by Jaime Hernandez

Members Preview: Explainers
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesmetaJules Feiffer 26 Mar 2008 3:19 PM

Explainers by Jules Feiffer

This week's free preview is a downloadable 25-page excerpt from Explainers: The Complete Village Voice Strips (1956-66), the first volume in a major archival project collecting the entirety of Jules Feiffer's strip for the venerable New York City weekly paper. These previews are exclusive to registered Fantagraphics.com users, so sign up and/or sign in to view. As a reminder, Gary Groth's Introduction to the book is reprinted here on the Fantagraphics website (with a slideshow of 11 strips selected by Groth) and can be read by the general public, no registration required.

A parenthetical aside on the panel above: I was startled by Feiffer's use of "omigod" in this strip dated January 2, 1957 — decades before the word was popularized by the whole "Valley Girl" fad of the 1980s.

(As a reminder, 20/20 Club members receive these previews two weeks before we post them on the website, just one of many great reasons to join up...)