Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Connective Tissue by Bob Fingerman - Previews & Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesBob Fingerman 13 Apr 2009 3:53 PM

Connective Tissue by Bob Fingerman

Now available for preview and pre-order: Connective Tissue, the new boldly bizarre illustrated prose novel from Bob Fingerman. Some meat-flavored candy takes video store clerk Darla Vogel on a trip to a weird, throbbing, monstrous other world! This book is scheduled to be in stock this month and in stores approximately 4 weeks later.

View a photo & video slideshow preview embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended). And at our product info page, read the entire first chapter as a 15-page downloadable PDF!

Fall 09 - Winter 10 Preview Part 1
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under The Comics JournalSteve DitkopreviewsPeanutsPaul Hornschemeier 13 Apr 2009 11:27 AM
catalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailcatalog page thumbnailStarting today and for the next two weeks we'll be bringing you a sneak peek at our Fall 2009 - Winter 2010 schedule of releases! We'll be slipping you a few pages at a time from our latest book distributor's catalog, which our fine friends at W.W. Norton uses to sell our books to the bookstore market. This first batch includes 4 upcoming issues of The Comics Journal, Paul Hornschemeier's All and Sundry: Uncollected Work 2004-2009, The Complete Peanuts 1972-1973, and Strange Suspense: The Steve Ditko Archives Vol. 1. (Note that all the info in this catalog is subject to change along the way to the books' release, including release dates, prices, cover art, book specs, etc.) Click here to download the first PDF!
Nate Neal Mome 17 cover sketch
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsNate NealMome 7 Apr 2009 4:47 PM

Nate Neal sketch for Mome Vol. 17 cover

This preliminary sketch for the cover of Mome Vol. 17 can be found on Flickr. Sez Nate: "Even though the image says vol. 16, Fantagraphics says that it must be used (if it is) for vol. 17...the story in that volume will connect to the cover image."

Luba preview at ICv2
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsGilbert Hernandez 7 Apr 2009 10:40 AM

from Luba by Gilbert Hernandez

Go check out an exclusive 6-page excerpt featuring the ever-lovable Venus from our forthcoming Luba omnibus hardcover by Gilbert hernandez at ICv2!

Abstract Comics - the blog
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesAbstract Comics 3 Apr 2009 9:47 AM

Abstract Comics

Andrei Molotiu, editor of our forthcoming anthology Abstract Comics, the first book to trace the history and survey the contemporary landscape of abstract sequential art, has started a blog to showcase the book and other work by some of the book's contributors. Bookmark/subscribe at abstractcomics.blogspot.com. Above: Jacob Covey's cover design for the book (updated: now in 3D!).

Love and Rockets rules Free Comic Book Day
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesLove and RocketsLos Bros HernandezJaime HernandezGilbert Hernandez 3 Apr 2009 8:56 AM

Love and Rockets: New Stories - Free Comic Book Day edition

If you thought you'd never see a new Love and Rockets comic book again: surprise! Our 2009 Free Comic Book Day offering is a preview of this summer's second annual issue of Love and Rockets: New Stories! Official description: "This preview edition includes a sizeable chapter of the second half of Jaime's amazing super-hero romp 'Ti-Girls Adventures,' as well as Gilbert Hernandez's typically unique 'Chest Fever,' both from the upcoming Love and Rockets: New Stories #2, plus selections from #1 and a new cover by Gilbert and Jaime!" Head to the FCBD website for an exclusive sneak preview download, and visit your participating local comics shop (call to confirm participation and availability)  on Saturday, May 2 to pick up your copy! (Yes, we will have them at Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery; no, they will not be available online.)

(Also, confidential to Jacob Covey.)

Basil Wolverton's Culture Corner
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesBasil Wolverton 2 Apr 2009 12:38 PM

Basil Wolverton's Culture Corner

The Dinosaur Gardens blog recently posted a full set of Basil Wolverton's "The Culture Corner" strips from Whiz Comics, 1945-1952. This seems like the right time to announce that we will be publishing these strips in book form later this year! Basil Wolverton's Culture Corner is currently scheduled for November 2009 and will be a 160-page full-color hardcover. In addition to showcasing our usual stellar restoration, design and production, our edition will also contain Wolverton's original pencil versions of each strip, which have been carefully preserved over the years, and demonstrate a looser, more spontaneous interpretation of the finished strips. Monte Wolverton will also provide an introduction to the book. Go ahead and enjoy those unrestored scans, and then come back here for updates and info about our edition as they become available.

Basil Wolverton's Culture Corner

Luba by Gilbert Hernandez: Previews & Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesLove and RocketsGilbert Hernandez 30 Mar 2009 3:04 PM

Luba by Gilbert Hernandez

Now available for preview and pre-order: Luba, the long-awaited hardcover sequel to Palomar by Gilbert Hernandez. This 600-page tome collects over 100 stories chronicling the experiences of the imposing matriarch and her extended family in America. This book is scheduled to be in stock in early April and in stores approximately 4 weeks later.

View a photo & video slideshow preview embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended). And at our product info page you can download a PDF of an exclusive 26-page excerpt!

Thrizzle, Blazing Combat previews at ICv2
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesMichael KuppermanBlazing Combat 24 Mar 2009 11:05 AM
A couple more excerpts from upcoming books are up at ICv2: 4 pages of "Twain & Einstein" from Tales Designed to Thrizzle #5 and a complete 7-page story with art by John Severin from Blazing Combat. Enjoy!
The Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 4 (New Printing): Preview & Pre-Order
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videoRobert Crumbpreviewsnew releases 23 Mar 2009 1:29 PM

The Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 4: Mr. Sixties! by R. Crumb

Now available for preview and pre-order: The Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 4: "Mr. Sixties!" Back in print with the first new softcover edition of this volume in 12 years! This one has Zap #0-1, "Keep on Truckin'," and a bunch more Crumb classics and rarities from the heady hippie days. Essential! This book is scheduled to be in stock in early April and in stores approximately 4 weeks later.

View a photo & video slideshow preview embedded here. Click here if it is not visible, and/or to view it larger in a new window (recommended).