Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> previews

Preview video/slideshow: The Wolverton Bible
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesBasil Wolverton 2 Feb 2009 5:23 PM

Sweet merciful Jebus do we have an ever-lovin' load of books coming out in the next couple of months -- about a dozen of 'em, if all goes according to plan. The advance copies have been pouring into our office and we've got lots of preview photos and videos to share with you. We'll present one book a day here on Flog but if you're impatient you can head over to our Flickr page and gorge yourself on the first 5 sets right now, with many more to come shortly.

Today we're presenting The Wolverton Bible, which features hundreds of amazing illustrations of the Old Testament and Revelations by MAD pioneer Basil Wolverton. Click here if the embedded slideshow doesn't appear above or to open it larger in a new window.

First look: Unlovable Vol. 2 by Esther Pearl Watson
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesEsther Pearl Watson 23 Jan 2009 11:41 AM

Unlovable Vol. 2 by Esther Pearl Watson

Sweet baby Jane! We just barely got Esther Pearl Watson's Unlovable Vol. 1 out the door, and now we've got the cover for Vol. 2 to show you! This one will feature pink glitter and I'm guessing that the orange is going to be day-glo like the hot pink of Vol. 1. I'm betting that Vol. 2 will be out early next year -- Eric can correct me in the comments if I'm wrong.

First look: The Complete Peanuts 1973-1974
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under SethpreviewsPeanutsnew releasesCharles M Schulz 23 Jan 2009 11:28 AM

The Complete Peanuts 1973-1974

Here's the world premiere of Seth's cover design for The Complete Peanuts 1973-1974, this Fall's volume in the series. This is a preliminary version; the final printed version will likely have minor changes. If you'd been wondering (like I had) how Seth was going to handle the scale issue for the Woodstock cover, here's his beautiful solution. And watch out: the 1971-1972 volume (with Sally on the cover) is looking like it will arrive earlier than expected!

Daily links: 1/22/09
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviewspreviewsMomejon vermilyeaJohnny RyanDavid BDash ShawCarol SwainBeastsAnders Nilsen 22 Jan 2009 1:43 PM

• Interview: The Inkstuds radio programme talks to Beasts-master Jacob Covey

• Interview: Newsarama asks David B. about his latest book Nocturnal Conspiracies and his work in Mome (with answers in both the original French and translated English -- nice touch)

• Review: Newsarama posts the latest rave for Bottomless Belly Button by Dash Shaw

• Preview: The Forbidden Planet International Blog Log takes a sneak peek at Carol Swain and Bruce Paley's comics memoir Giraffes in My Hair: A Rock 'N' Roll Life, which we've currently got on our schedule for August this year

• Things to see: The New York Times presents an animated ode to the Bowery by Gary Leib

• Things to see: This Animal Collective video that's blowing up the internets features animation by Jon Vermilyea

• Things to see: Johnny Ryan illustrates the cover of the current Las Vegas Weekly

• Things to see: The latest batch of sketchbook scans from Anders Nilsen

The Squirrel Machine website
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesHans Rickheit 21 Jan 2009 1:38 PM

The Squirrel Machine - Hans Rickheit

Artist Hans Rickheit has launched an official website for The Squirrel Machine, his upcoming Fantagraphics graphic novel, with excerpts, teasers, extras and more information about the book.

Daily links: 1/14/09
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviewspreviewsMichael KuppermanIn-joke Central 14 Jan 2009 1:27 PM

• Review/profile: Rick Klaw looks back at Frederick & Eloise and other early work by Brian Biggs

• List: Bully, continuing with the "Fun Fifty of 2008" list, plunks Tales Designed to Thrizzle by Michael Kupperman in at #11

• List: Alan David Doane and numerous other comics pros list the 2009 titles they're most looking forward to, and there's a bunch of our stuff in there

• In-joke: Here's one for Jacob

Preview video/slideshow: Hank Ketcham's Complete Dennis the Menace 1959-1960
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesDennis the Menace 13 Jan 2009 7:24 AM

Due in February, Hank Ketcham's Complete Dennis the Menace 1959-1960 features the tiny troublemaker's encounters with bobby-soxers, beatniks, cats and hobos, and of course plenty of mischief at home and in the neighborhood, all expressed through Ketcham's dazzlingly fluid line. Click this link if the embedded slideshow doesn't appear above, and/or to open it in a new window.

Preview video/slideshow: Unlovable by Esther Pearl Watson
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previewsnew releasesEsther Pearl Watson 12 Jan 2009 7:41 AM

Scheduled to arrive around the end of this month, Esther Pearl Watson's Unlovable is a glitter-encrusted, hot pink hunk of high school humiliation, heartbreak, halitosis, hairspray and hilarity from the pages of Bust magazine. Click this link if the embedded slideshow doesn't appear above, and/or to open it in a new window.

The Future
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under previews 5 Jan 2009 12:06 PM

Essential reading: Comic Book Resources plunders our Spring/Summer 2009 catalog and brings you the juicy details.

Please note that release dates are subject to change.

Preview video/slideshow: Monologues for Calculating the Density of Black Holes by Anders Nilsen
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under videopreviewsnew releasesAnders Nilsen 19 Dec 2008 4:36 PM

Slated to be our first release of 2009, Anders Nilsen's Monologues for Calculating the Density of Black Holes is the second Monologues... collection of darkly humorous strips and stories from one of comics' great young experimentalists. Click this link if the embedded slideshow doesn't appear above, and/or to open it in a new window.