Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Category >> reviews

Blogosphere roundup for 6/13/08
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviewsarbitrary cuteness 14 Jun 2008 3:32 AM

A two-fer this time around, since I was out last Friday. I need to come up with a better name for these link roundup posts. Any suggestions?

When Comic Books Ruled the Earth is enthusiastic about The Education of Hopey Glass by Jaime Hernandez

Sequart on Amor Y Cohetes by the three Hernandez brothers

Also at Sequart, their in-depth look at every issue of Love and Rockets Vol. 1 has reached issue #33

Joe McCulloch (a.k.a. Jog) reprints his Comics Journal review of the first two issues of Gabriella Giandelli’s Interiorae

Chris McLaren, in discussing Jules Feiffer's Explainers, reveals that this Feiffer print hung at one time (and possibly still does) in Neil Gaiman's bathroom

Boing Boing boosts Bottomless Belly Button by Bash Dash Shaw

Largehearted Boy's Book Notes also looks at Bottomless Belly Button

The Oregonian, Jog again, and Sequart again, all on Jason's Pocket Full of Rain and Other Stories

The Forbidden Planet blog on Jason's The Last Musketeer

Shuffleboil on Ray Fenwick's Hall of Best Knowledge

Panels and Pixels says Willie & Joe: The WWII Years by Bill Mauldin "might be the most important comic reprint project of the year"

The Comic Book Bin on R.C. Harvey’s Meanwhile… A Biography of Milton Caniff

Sequart once more, on the Comic Arf anthology

Again with the Comics starts a series of posts on the work of Peter Bagge by looking at his series Neat Stuff

The Floating Lightbulb looks at E.C. Segar's Sappo as it appears in our Popeye collections

• Fantasy writer Icats Nitram takes a look at our 1986 release Children of the Night Tide by Jan Strnad, Dennis Fujitake and Tim Solliday

Plus...

• Our own Eric Reynolds explains Mome to Comic Book Resources (with a preview of the forthcoming Vol. 12)

See Paul Hornschemeier's photos of Kevin Huizenga, Anders Nilsen and the trio's artwork at the Bilbolbul festival in Bologna, Italy

Presspop has photos of a Jim Woodring exhibit in Japan

WFMU apparently has more Fantagraphics clutter to auction off; this time it's the first collection of Kaz's Underworld

Rod McKie spotlights the work of Jason

Ty Buttars reports from Tuesday's Jason event at The Beguiling in Toronto

• And finally, from our Flickr group pool, a cat reading Peanuts upside-down:


Blogosphere roundup for 5/30/08
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviewsKim Deitch 30 May 2008 12:27 PM

Reviews and commentary found 'round the Web this week:

ComicMix on the latest volume of The Complete Peanuts

Occasional Superheroine and The Comics Reporter on Dash Shaw's Bottomless Belly Button — the latter's Tom Spurgeon enthuses "Bottomless Belly Button reaches so high and executes so much of what it does so well that it shames you into reconsidering every other book you may have praised recently."

Newsarama on The Last Musketeer by Jason

Comics Worth Reading's Johanna Draper Carlson explains why she named Linda Medley's Castle Waiting one of the "Best of 2006"

Sequart on Willie & Joe: The WWII Years by Bill Mauldin

Sequart again on Ellen Forney's Lust

Sexuality in the Arts and Noah Berlatsky each comment on the Schulz feature in The Comics Journal #290 (the former via Uncivilsociety.org)

• Dick Hyacinth places Jessica Farm Vol. 1 by Josh Simmons and Ganges #2 by Kevin Huizenga on his "Halfway point (more or less) best of 2008" list

The Star Clipper Blog on R. Kikuo Johnson's Night Fisher

Bonus! Here are some non-review links:

My Year Online reports on Martin Kellerman's appearance at the Oslo Comics Expo

Our pals at WFMU are auctioning a copy of the first printing of Love and Rockets #1 with Fantagraphics co-founder Mike Catron's business card stapled to the cover

A fan report from last weekend's Shag event at our storefront

What happens when you read too much Daniel Clowes

Art Speculum and Kim Ditch?

• Speaking of Kim Ditch Deitch, here's a portrait of him (and Waldo the Cat) by photographer Seth Kushner:

Kim Deitch - photo by Seth Kushner

Blog review roundup for 5/23/08
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviews 23 May 2008 11:28 AM

Here's the past week's worth of blogospheric activity that we've found:

Occasional Superheroine says Kevin Huizenga's Ganges #2 is "a must-have"

Sequart on Ganges #2 and Matt Broersma's Insomnia #3

The Star Clipper Blog on The Living and the Dead by Jason

I Against Comics and the North Coast Journal on The Education of Hopey Glass by Jaime Hernandez

Chris Beckett profiles our Mome anthology series and interviews co-editor Gary Groth

Blog review roundup for 5/16/08
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviews 16 May 2008 12:55 PM

Here's what's come up on our ego-surfing adventures this week:

Jog on Funeral of the Heart by Leah Hayes and Insomnia #3 by Matt Broersma (plus a couple of non-Fanta titles)

Jeff Trexler compares 1950s Dennis the Menace to Blue Velvet

Notes from the Junkyard on Bob Powell's "The Wall of Flesh," which appears in The Comics Journal #290

Scrubbles.net on The Complete Peanuts 1959-1960 (Vol. 5) (plus a handful of movies)

Comics And...Other Imaginary Tales on Castle Waiting by Linda Medley

Ruben Bolling on our forthcoming Humbug collection

The Daily Cross Hatch on Funeral of the Heart by Leah Hayes

The Stranger has a lunch date with Jules Feiffer's Explainers

Matthew Brady on Perla La Loca by Jaime Hernandez

Alan David Doane on Mome Vol. 11 and the Hernandez Brothers' Amor Y Cohetes

USA Today Pop Candy's Whitney Matheson says she's "completely engrossed" in Dash Shaw's Bottomless Belly Button

EW on Willie & Joe
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Willie and JoereviewsBill Mauldin 16 May 2008 9:00 AM
Ken Tucker talks Willie & Joe over at EW.com.
Blog review roundup for 5/9/08
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under reviewsMomeJaime HernandezDash Shaw 9 May 2008 11:43 AM

Here are a few reviews of our books that have popped up in the web-o-sphere over the past week or so (minus ones that Eric has already linked to):

Sean T. Collins on Mome Vol. 9

Sean T. Collins on Mome Vol. 10

Book By Its Cover on Bottomless Belly Button by Dash Shaw

• The Austin Chronicle on The Education of Hopey Glass by Jaime Hernandez (and other non-Fanta titles)

Willie & Joe
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under Willie and Joereviews 7 May 2008 6:54 AM

Have you seen it yet? It might be our most impressive package in our 30-year-history. Here's an early review from Comic Mix.

And don't forget editor Todd DePastino's Virtual Book Signing tomorrow.  

Touch World
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under reviewsDaniel Clowes 5 May 2008 7:26 AM
I was really hoping this was a review of a porno adaptation of Ghost World. "In short, Touch World is a pile like life." 
Robert Clough on MOME
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under reviewsMome 1 May 2008 8:19 AM
This is an amazingly thorough and well-written excavation of the last five or six issues of MOME. Thank you, Mr. Clough!
Oregonian on Most Outrageous
Written by Eric Reynolds | Filed under reviewsBob Levin 22 Apr 2008 7:48 AM

  

Steve Duin of The Oregonian has the first review of Bob Levin's Most Outrageous: The Trials and Trespasses of Dwaine Tinsley and Chester the Molester that I've seen, and I couldn't agree with it more.