Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.


Hidden Gems Sale spotlight: Carol Swain
Written by Mike Baehr | Filed under sales specialsCarol Swain 24 Jul 2008 11:00 PM

Every day in July we're spotlighting books from our month-long Hidden Gems Sale, wherein we're featuring some of our under-the-radar backlist titles and encouraging you to try them by offering them at a nice discount of 25% off!

The subject of today's spotlight, British cartoonist Carol Swain, has been acclaimed by Alan Moore and called "the Raymond Carver of British comics" by Time Out, yet somehow still remains something of a secret.

Foodboy by Carol Swain

Foodboy

Foodboy is about loss and hope, friendship, faith, and bonds that are tested when the paths of two boyhood friends diverge. Gareth and Ross live in a small Welsh village; when Ross ends up alienated from society and living in a near-feral state after an encounter with a visiting troupe of Evangelists, it falls to Gareth to try to help him. Foodboy is drawn in Swain's trademark style of exquisite panel compositions.

80-page black & white 7" x 10" softcover
regularly $9.95 • ON SALE $7.46
Order Now

Invasion of the Mind Sappers by Carol Swain

Invasion of the Mind Sappers

A disquieting meditation on teenage fantasies in the tradition of Heavenly Creatures and The Miracle, Swain's first full-length graphic novel tells the story of Dai, Helen, and Ivan, three friends who believe that the earthquake that rocked their hometown was caused by — yes — a crashlanding UFO, survived only by their temporary headmaster. Are they right, or is the truth even stranger? Swain's brutally honest depiction of small-town life and her powerfully forthright graphic style create a bruising, harrowing masterwork.

80-page black & white 7" x 10" softcover
regularly $8.95 • ON SALE $6.71
Order Now