Search / Login

Quick Links:
Latest Releases
Browse by Artist
Love and Rockets Guide
Peanuts books
Disney books
More browsing options under "Browse Shop" above


Search: All Titles

Advanced Search
Login / Free Registration
Detail Search
Download Area
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Subscribe

Sign up for our email newsletters for updates on new releases, events, special deals and more.

Fanta News
Eat More Bikes with Nathan Bulmer at Fantagraphics Bookstore! Print
Written by Larry Reid   
Tuesday, 18 December 2012

Nathan Bulmer Eat More Bikes Book Signing poster

End the year in style with a trip to Georgetown on Sunday, December 30 from 2:00 to 4:00 PM as Fantagraphics Bookstore welcomes Brooklyn, NY cartoonist Nathan Bulmer back to his home town of Seattle. Bulmer will sign copies of his new comix collection, Eat More Bikes, from Canada's adventurous Koyama Press.

A recent graduate of New York's storied School of Visual Art, Bulmer made an immediate impact with his daily Eat More Bikes comix art blog. He returns to Seattle with a new anthology of these strips, as well as a handful of hilarious self-published minicomics. The festivities include music by Zachary David Jammin' and complimentary holiday refreshments. This event coincides with the "Only in Seattle Sundays" small business promotion of the City of Seattle Office of Economic Development.

Shop local at Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery, located at 1201 S. Vale Street (at Airport Way S.) in the heart of Seattle's lively Georgetown arts community. Open daily 11:30 to 8:00 PM, Sundays until 5:00 PM. Open until 4:00 PM on Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve, closed on Christmas and New Year’s Day. Phone 206.658.0110.

Listing information:

Nathan Bulmer book signing with music by Zachary David Jammin'
Sunday, December 30, 2:00 to 4:00 PM
Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery
1201 S. Vale St., Georgetown, Seattle
206.658.0110
www.fantagraphics.com

 
Celebrate 30 Years of Love and Rockets with Gilbert & Jaime Hernandez, Fantagraphics Bookstore 12/8 Print
Written by Larry Reid   
Wednesday, 28 November 2012

Love and Rockets 30th Anniversary - Gilbert Hernandez - Jaime Hernandez

Celebrate 30 Years of Love and Rockets with Gilbert & Jaime Hernandez at Fantagraphics Bookstore on Saturday, December 8!

When Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez created the first issue of Love and Rockets three decades ago, they foreshadowed the diverse American society we enjoy today. Their work wasn’t overtly political. They simply reflected their cultural environment. In doing so, they profoundly influenced popular culture on a global scale. Celebrate the illustrious legacy of these amazing artists on Saturday, December 8 from 6:00 to 9:00 PM. This festive evening of art, comix, and music marks the 6th anniversary of Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery .

The Love and Rockets comic book series helped lay the foundation for the alternative comix movement. Brothers Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez combined elements of their Southern California punk counterculture with accessible pop motifs, breathing new life into the moribund underground comix form. Their work found a receptive audience among the adventurous youth culture of the period. The Hernandez brothers’ efforts soon came to the attention fledgling comic book publisher Fantagraphics Books, helping launch that storied enterprise. The relationship remains strong 30 years later, as Fantagraphics and Love and Rockets help shape the rising influence of alternative comix. The Love and Rockets franchise has grown to include countless comix collections and continues as an annual edition that complements the solo projects of the sibling artists.

The festivities on Saturday, December 8 include an exhibition of Love and Rockets art and artifacts chosen by Fantagraphics editorial associate Kristy Valenti and bookstore curator Larry Reid. A signed commemorative silkscreen print will be produced for the occasion. Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez will be available to sign a wide variety of comix, anthologies, and related merchandise. Accomplished cartoonist, visual artist and musician Geneviève Castrée will provide entertainment with her music project Ô Paon – helping us celebrate 30 years of Love and Rockets as well as six wonderful years of Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery. This event coincides with a lively holiday edition of the Georgetown Art Attack, featuring visual and performing arts presentations throughout the historic neighborhood, including wandering carolers from Choir of the Sound.

Ô Paon

Listing Information:

30 Years of Love and Rockets with Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez
Exhibition and book signing, with music by Ô Paon
Saturday, December 8, 6:00 to 9:00 PM
Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery
1201 S. Vale Street, Seattle. 206.658.0110
Open daily 11:30 to 8:00 PM, Sundays until 5:00 PM

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 27 November 2012 )
 
The Last Vispo Anthology featured at Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery on November 24 Print
Written by Larry Reid   
Tuesday, 13 November 2012

The Last Vispo Anthology: Visual Poetry 1998 - 2008

The Last Vispo Anthology: Visual Poetry 1998 – 2008 featured at Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery on November 24.

November 13, 2012 – Seattle, WA. Much like the language of comix, visual poetry employs imagery to supplement the written word. This ocular form of discourse is the subject of a new book, The Last Vispo Anthology, edited by Northwest literary artists Nico Vassilakis and Crag Hill.  Their work will be feted with an exhibition, readings, and music performance at Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery on Saturday, November 24 from 6:00 to 8:00 PM.

The reception will feature short readings by contributors James Yeary, Donato Mancini, Robert Mittenthal, Joseph Keppler and Gustave Morin, as well as editors Hill and Vassilakis. The exhibition will include 15 prints from the anthology. Musical entertainment will be provided by Lori Goldston (former Nirvana and Earth cellist, and recent Stranger “Genius Award” recipient) performing with former Black Cat Orchestra band mate Kyle Hanson. This event marks the departure to New York of editor Nico Vassilakis, a longtime Fantagraphics employee and fixture in Seattle’s cultural community. Admission is always free.

Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery is located at 1201 S. Vale Street in Seattle’s vibrant Georgetown industrial arts corridor. Open daily 11:30 to 8:00 PM, Sundays until 5:00 PM. Phone 206.658.0110.

Listing Information

The Last Vispo Anthology exhibition, book signing and readings featuring music by Lori Goldston and Kyle Hanson.

Saturday, November 24, 6:00 to 8:00 PM.
Exhibition continues through December 6.
Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery
1201 S. Vale St. Seattle,WA 206.658.0110
Open daily 11:30 – 8:00 PM, Sundays until 5:00 PM

 
Ellen Forney Presents MARBLES at Seattle Public Library on November 10 Print
Written by Larry Reid   
Thursday, 01 November 2012

Marbles - Ellen Forney

Ellen Forney

November 1, 2012 – Seattle, WA.  One of Seattle's most notable artists, Ellen Forney, will discuss her courageous new graphic memoir Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, & Me at the Seattle Public Library central branch on Saturday, November 10 at 7:00 PM. Her slide presentation in the Microsoft Auditorium will be followed by a book signing. Copies will available at the event. Admission is free.

Ellen Forney has a long history of achievement as a cartoonist, visual artist, and charismatic figure in the Seattle's cultural community. Forney was recently anointed a "Genius" by alternative newspaper The Stranger. She's the featured public artist on the Capitol Hill light rail station project. Seattle-based publisher Fantagraphics Books has collected her work in three popular volumes — Lust, I Love Led Zeppelin, and Monkey Food. Her collaboration with author Sherman Alexie on The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian was honored with a National Book Award in 2007. Beyond these accomplishments, Ellen has followed in the tradition of Lynda Barry, Tom Robbins, Kurt Cobain and other notable artists in cleverly reflecting regional sensibilities to the rest of the nation.

Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, & Me, from Penguin Books' Gotham imprint, chronicles Forney's experience with bipolar disorder in the context of her career in comix. She documents her symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment with both sensitivity and humor. Her accessible approach to this difficult subject removes the social stigma associated with mental illness. Please join us on Saturday, November 10 at 7:00 PM at the Seattle Public Library as this extraordinary artist unveils her remarkable new book. 

Listing Information

Ellen Forney presents Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, & Me.
Saturday, November 10, 7:00 PM
Microsoft Auditorium. Seattle Public Library Central Branch. 1000 4th Ave.
Admission free. Reservations not required.

Presented by Seattle Public Library Foundation and Fantagraphics Bookstore.

 
Fantagraphics Bookstore Presents Graphic Biographies by David Lasky and Noah Van Sciver on Nov. 2 Print
Written by Larry Reid   
Thursday, 25 October 2012

The Hypo - Noah Van Sciver

Carter Family Comics - David Lasky

October 25, 2012 – Seattle, WA.  Acclaimed alternative cartoonists David Lasky and Noah Van Sciver have mined American history to produce two remarkable graphic novels – Lasky’s The Carter Family: Don’t Forget This Song and Van Sciver’s The Hypo: The Melancholic Young Lincoln. Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery hosts an exhibition of original art and book signing by these amazing artists on Friday, November 2, from 6:00 to 9:00 PM.

Don’t Forget This Song chronicles the colorful career of The Carter Family, country music legends of the 1920s and '30s. Written by Southern-born Seattle resident Frank M. Young in the dialect of the day, this engaging narrative parallels the turmoil of that period. It portrays the family’s perseverance in the face of rural poverty, bigotry and isolation, as well as the myriad problems brought by sudden success. Meticulously rendered in full color by veteran Seattle cartoonist David Lasky, the book includes a CD of vintage Carter Family radio recordings. Both Lasky and Young will be available to sign copies of the book at the reception.

The Hypo: The Melancholic Young Lincoln documents the troubled young adulthood of one of America’s most beloved leaders. The book follows Abe Lincoln as he arrives in Springfield, Illinois to begin his life in politics and law. A promising career is sidetracked by a series of professional and emotional setbacks that result in a crushing cloud of depression Lincoln described as "The Hypo." Van Sciver’s attention to detail and emotive drawing technique combine to create a compelling story of irrepressible ambition overcoming all obstacles — laying the foundation for a figure bound to alter the course of history. Van Sciver will appear at the reception to sign copies of his new book, as well as his popular self-published Blammo comix.

The opening at Fantagraphics Bookstore in Seattle’s historic Georgetown arts community on Friday, November 2 is associated the Short Run Small Press Fest activities. A coinciding exhibition of work from Seattle alternative comix tabloid, The Intruder, will be held next door at One Night Stand gallery from 6:00 to 9:00 PM.

Listing Information:

David Lasky and Noah Van Sciver art exhibition and book signing
Friday, November 2, 6:00 to 9:00 PM. Exhibition continues through November 22.
Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery
1201 S. Vale Street, Seattle
206.658.0110 | www.fantagraphics.com

Last Updated ( Thursday, 25 October 2012 )
 
<< Start < Previous Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next Page > End >>

Results 46 - 54 of 204