Get your holiday orders before the big day by shopping early! USPS Priority Mail International and Media Mail orders must be placed by 12/5 and 12/6 to ensure delivery by Christmas. Check out the full list of shipping deadlines on our blog—click on this banner to learn more!

Alison cover image
Regular price $24.99
Sale price $24.99 Regular price
Out of stock
Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Lizzy Stewart

Alison

On sale date: July 26, 2022

This graphic novel chronicles the life of a woman painter living in bohemian 1970s London who navigates a predatory mentor, sexism, classism, and her lack of self-confidence in her abilities to become a successful and respected artist.

Alison tells the story of a young British woman who, in her twenties, seizes upon the opportunity to escape from her quiet life in Dorset to the thrumming art scene of late-1970s London. But the vehicle for her escape is a charismatic older man whose reputation as an artist and philanderer casts a shadow which will follow Alison for years as she pursues her painting career.

A complex love and coming-of-age story, Alison is also a meditation on female friendship and empowerment, class and patriarchy, the creative process and the art world. Combining immaculate prose and stunning artwork, British illustrator and author Lizzy Stewart immerses the reader in the atmospheric milieu of bohemian London in the late 20th century, while at the same time conjuring a story that will resonate with many.

Told through quietly powerful interpersonal moments rich with meaning and mood, this graphic novel will appeal to fans of Sally Rooney and Leanne Shapton, as well as the great empathic writers Alice Munro, Hilary Mantel, and Tessa Hadley.

Praise

"Mournful, lovely... Stewart's dynamic, warm, flowing art invites the reader in." — The New York Times Book Review

"There's a quiet but powerful immediacy to [Stewart's work] that will appeal to lit fic fans who may not always pick up comics." — Publishers Weekly

Specs

Pages
192
Format
Hardback
Color
Full-color
Dimensions
6.69" × 9.45"
ISBN-13
9781683965817
x