The cover to The Farewell Song of Marcel Labrume, featuring scenes from the comic in orange and yellow behind the title and author's name. The scenes include a man threatening someone with his fist, a man reading a newspaper in the background while a woman looks toward the viewer while wearing sunglasses, and a shadowed man on a motorcycle.
Regular price $24.99
Sale price $24.99 Regular price
Out of stock
Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Attilio Micheluzzi, Translator: Jamie Richards

The Farewell Song of Marcel Labrume

On sale date: September 17, 2024

The first 21st century English language translation of Italian master Attilio Micheluzzi, a rousing adventure story that takes place in the Middle East during World War II.

The first act of this thrilling two-part adventure tale takes place in Beirut in 1941, when renegade journalist Marcel Labrume crosses paths with the beautiful and mysterious American millionaire Carol Gibson, who the Germans suspect of being a spy. With the help of Labrume, the young woman works to deliver a Jewish man wanted by the Germans to Palestine. Then, in 1942, Marcel Labrume is captured during the Battle of Bir Hacheim and becomes a prisoner of war. With his usual style and aplomb, and by the skin of his teeth, Labrume manages to narrowly escape death.

The Farewell Song of Marcel Labrume is Fantagraphics' first entry in its planned Micheluzzi library, which will reprint all of his most significant works. Micheluzzi is one of the most iconic graphic stylists of the European comics scene known for his elegant line and stunning draftsmanship. He drew many graphic novels between 1974 and 1990, mostly of adventurous stories grounded in historical reality with a patina of romanticism, in the tradition of Milton Caniff and Hugo Pratt. Micheluzzi's artwork in these Fantagraphics editions have been meticulously and lovingly restored by the artist's daughter Agnese Micheluzzi and will be the finest reproductions in the artist's career.

Specs

Pages
144
Format
Hardback
Color
Black-and-white
Dimensions
8" × 10.5"
ISBN-13
9781683969587
x